RSS

Pony Stories 343

22 Feb

Guh. I’m having a horrible time just getting myself to sit down and write. Didn’t help that earlier today I started, got a couple of paragraphs typed, then managed to brush fingers on the touchscreen in the exact way to erase everything. Kind of killed my motivation to keep going. Of course that means I really need more practice. A productive professional writer writes even when they aren’t feeling that motivation or energy. Anyway, so instead of the scheduled big of my writing, you guys get a couple of ponyfic reviews instead.

  • Plural Possessive by Aquaman
  • Where There’s a Quill… by Croswynd
  • Rest Stop by JohnPerry

Plural Possessive by Aquaman

Very fun. Wasn’t expecting it to start off with slapstick, but that was a good surprise. This Sombra was a delight to follow along with.

Where There’s a Quill… by Croswynd

Not bad, but I can’t say that I enjoyed it. No real substance to it. Each of the mane six show up once, as if the author was working of a checklist. Only Rainbow Dash has anything to add. We get pretty much no real feel for Twilight as she writes. I ended up skimming over Pinkie’s musical number just because I wanted to get to the end of the story sooner.

Rest Stop by JohnPerry

A bit rambly, but pretty good. Assuming you don’t mind a story that is two thirds Twilight’s meandering internal monologue. A bit cliche in places in the last third, but unlike some the author isn’t using the cliches as a crutch.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 22, 2015 in Ponies, Reading 2015, Reviews

 

2 responses to “Pony Stories 343

  1. Professor Whooves

    February 23, 2015 at 3:57 am

    “Rest Stop”? Holy shit, that’s an old one. I think your evaluation is on point — decent but rambly.

     
    • Griffin

      February 23, 2015 at 9:20 pm

      I don’t really pay attention to how old stories are. Though I’m starting to work at my to-read list from when I added them to the list, from the back.

       

Leave a Reply

