RSS

Pony Stories 345

25 Feb

A fun number 3, 4, 5. I’ve always had a soft spot for counting multi-digit numbers like that. But enough about random thoughts in my head, onto the ponyfic reviews. Tomorrow I’ll get back to updating the list with my reviews. Soooo far behind on that.

Rainbow Reflections by Bookish Delight

A rewrite of another story. I actually liked the original a bit more. It had a conciseness that made it work. This one stretched things out a bit but didn’t quite have enough new content for the extra space. Still?, some good new stuff. An interesting idea on more of the EQ world. So, if you really liked the original you should give this a try to see what changed and what was added. If you haven’t read the original, not sure which I’d recommend. Probably the original, but this would be fine too I guess.

Having a Ball by Cereal Velocity

Not exactly what I was expecting. Enjoyed it a lot though. A story about a young Rarity just after getting her cutie mark. Well, a flashback of that time. I like the idea that some ponies have to figure out what their cutie mark means.

Basking by Pascoite

Neat concept, but the writing is a bit off. Not rough, maybe a little florid? Not sure exactly what word to use. Just is a bit distracting. How many ways can an author describe Princess Luna’s smile? This story had most of them. Still, good characters and interesting concept. I enjoyed it, but the language use kept me from loving it.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 25, 2015 in Ponies, Reading 2015, Reviews

 

2 responses to “Pony Stories 345

  1. Present Perfect

    February 26, 2015 at 6:53 am

    Fun numbers like that drive my follower gets. 😀 Also, I’m glad you got to Having a Ball, everyone should read that if only to remember that Cereal once wrote fic.

     
    • Griffin

      February 26, 2015 at 11:37 am

      I’m actually trying to focus on the older stories in my read later list. Figure that if I start reading from the back I’ll at least have a good turnover even if the list doesn’t get any smaller.

       

Leave a Reply

