RSS

Pony Stories 356

11 Mar

Been hearing about the new pony comic with Dragontown. The whole ‘wait, ponies know nothing about dragons what is this?’ sort of thing. Also it’s a Princess Luna and Spike story. Sooo… Anyone who has read it, is there any evidence that it’s not just a dream sequence Spike is having? Princess Luna brings Spike to a town full of dragons that just happens to have a cute female dragon that may or may not be attracted to Spike? Sounds kind of convenient to me. Given I’m actually grabbing the comics one every now and then through amazon I’ll probably get around to it eventually.

Woo! Think I’m starting to be on an upswing out of the depression. Funny how the littest things can bump mood one way or the other. Got all caught up on adding my reviews to the big master review list. Probably around 100 of them or so. I wasn’t keeping precise track, but they were in the mid 1300’s before and now I’ve got 1446 or so. So, once again I have unleashed a giant wave of notifications on FimFiction.

  • Thought I’d Let You Know… by Gyro Steambass
  • Butter Up by GaPJaxie
  • Rainbow Typhoon by Nonsanity

Thought I’d Let You Know… by Gyro Steambass

Yep, that was about as depressing as I thought it would be. About all there is as well. So, good for what it is and not really anything else than what it is. The second chapter provides some closure, but I’m not sure that is a good idea. Kind if softens the story. Plus it has as character acting kind of stupid. So, maybe just stick to the primary chapter.

Butter Up by GaPJaxie

I’m still not sure if I like these or not. Still want to read the next one though. They are very well written character studies of off kilter characters. Can’t wait to see if they ate leafing somewhere or are just going to be six little snapshots. Or, hopefully, seven snapshots.

Rainbow Typhoon by Nonsanity

Pretty good Rainbow Dash story. Could have been slimmed down a bit, but the pacing was alright. Nothing spectacular, but very functional. I enjoyed reading it, but nothing much springs to mind to comment on. The ending was a bit ambiguous for my taste. Rainbow Dash deserved a clear-cut victory. Or, well, a good pony story should have a clear-cut victory or loss after that sort of thing.

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 11, 2015 in Ponies, Reading 2015, Reviews

 

3 responses to “Pony Stories 356

  1. inquisitormence

    March 11, 2015 at 10:41 am

    There’s a review of the comic over at Louder Yay.

     
  2. iisawiisaw

    March 11, 2015 at 10:26 pm

    In my opinion, the comic commits one of the cardinal sins of Bad Fantasy writing; it reduces an innately intriguing and mysterious race (dragons) to a direct analogue of bland, modern humans.

    The moralizing is a bit heavy-handed, and Luna isn’t much in it. It’s mostly a Spike story. I generally like the comics, even the ones that most fans don’t, but I’m really sorry I bought this one.

     
    • Griffin

      March 12, 2015 at 12:29 am

      Yep, sounds like a dream sequence to me.

       

Leave a Reply

