RSS

Pony Stories 370

28 Mar

Now, I know this can’t be canon. I checked. Unless the Celestia during the wedding party was some kind of stand-in golem. But… I had this random thought. If we’ve got Sunny Skies as Princess Celestia’s pink-haired alter ego… What if she’s got a pony identity for each color in her hair? And the blue one is a white unicorn DJ with blue hair? Hmmm… Wonder what the others would be.

  • Spitfire’s Day Off by Artimae
  • Like Flying by ProofNegative
  • Dinner with the Parents by Cyanblackstone

Spitfire’s Day Off by Artimae

Writing in this one is a bit rough. The author needs more practice, but its an interesting concept (relatively speaking) and I think the author has plenty of potential. Enough that I’ll check to see if they have any more recent stories that hopefully show improvement.

Like Flying by ProofNegative

Nah, not what I’m in the mood for right now. So I didn’t finish this. I don’t mind humanized most of the time, but it needs to be a little more focused or feel very pony to keep my attention. This one wasn’t bad, but not stellar either. Might give it another try sometime in the future, but not now.

Dinner with the Parents by Cyanblackstone

Just zipping through these fluffy fics. This is a average quality Octavia and Vinyl shipfic. Just a unconnected scene that’s pretty much what you expect given the description of the story. If you like that pairing, you’ll probably get some enjoyment from this. If not, you won’t.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 28, 2015 in Ponies, Reading 2015, Reviews

 

4 responses to “Pony Stories 370

  1. iisawiisaw

    March 28, 2015 at 6:04 pm

    I’ve never been able to get into a humanized fic. The whole point of the show is to explore a magical land filled with pastel talking ponies. Why take away everything that makes them unique?

    Is it lack of imagination? Nothing will make me drop a fic faster than realizing the author is assuming Equestria is directly equivalent to modern human society, and carelessly includes phones, MP3 players, traffic lights, and such.

     
    • Griffin

      March 28, 2015 at 10:29 pm

      Nah, actually this time it was not enough pony. I can enjoy a humanized story that projects the characters strong enough that they are still recognizable despite the lack of pony. This one had them referring to each other as Earth tribe and Air tribe with magic powers related to same. That with a accurate, but kind of cliche characterization it just didn’t work for me. Could have easily been Airbender future fan fiction, for instance.

      I didn’t actually get far enough to see any major worldbuilding, so no clue if they tried direct modern human society or not. Or at least I don’t remember if the story did.

       
    • inquisitormence

      March 29, 2015 at 6:23 am

      Yep, I quite agree.

      For me, it’s usually police. Something will happen and the police show up – and I’m all, ‘did you not actually watch the show?

       
      • Griffin

        March 29, 2015 at 2:02 pm

        For me it’s been cell phones. That’s why I stopped reading… Hmmm, I think it was University Days?

         

Leave a Reply

