RSS

Pony Stories 398

29 Apr

Woo. Broke the 5k line for number of stories on the big master review list thanks to PresentPerfect. Which I kinda figured, just from the statistics.Next big round number is gonna be 8000 reviews total. Which, funny enough, means that we are getting less than two reviews per story on the average. Given that like two dozen stories have 8+ reviews and the most reviewed story has 11 reviews, means there is a lot of stories with just 1 review.

Anyway, now I’m gonna ramble about something else that’s popped into my head a few times while I’m updating the spreadsheet. Since I go to every story page to copy/paste the author and title of the stories, I see a lot of those pages. Which leads me to glancing up to the right upper corner to see how long the author has been offline/online. Sometimes it’s a few minutes, sometimes its months, a couple of times it’s been years. Which is occasionally a good thing since I hate linking to a bad review and then having the bookshelf notification get sent to the author. So knowing they haven’t been around for 90+ weeks means I don’t have to worry about it.

But that’s not what I’ve been rolling around in my head while I’m doing recreational data entry. I’ve been wondering when exactly, just based on the offline time, you could consider a person not active anymore? I see a author who hasn’t been around for 2-3 days and I figure that they could just not obsessively check the site couple of times a day, or are on vacation. someone hasn’t been online for 60 days is probably not coming back (some exceptions, but confident about using that as a rule of thumb). So, five days? Seven? Two weeks? I know there really isn’t an answer. Just sometimes curious when I see an author that’s been gone for 10 days and wonder if they are coming back or not.

Big Master Review List stats: Authors: [2188], Stories [5003], Total Reviews: [7965]

  • Tyrant by PaulAsaran
  • So Many Different Ways to Prey by Loganberry
  • Autobiography for Twilight by Monochromatic

Tyrant by PaulAsaran

Good, if a little… Hm, not sure exactly how to put it. Not preachy exactly, but very clearly a message fic. Which both the description and the end author’s note makes clear. Definitely worth a read. I just really wish it was expanded into a full story for the context and buildup to this final scene.

So Many Different Ways to Prey by Loganberry

This was not what I expected. Sadly, this means I did not finish it. Was looking for a story in prose, got a story in poetry instead. As an audiobook or other audio format this would probably be really neat. As text, it was simply too slow paced for my current tastes. Would still suggest people at least give it a look to see if they like the format better.

Autobiography for Twilight by Monochromatic

Fluffy fluff mcfluff. Competent, but not exceptional. No real character building, study, or exploration. Just a few scenes of fluffyness with Rarity and Twilight. Flllluuuuffffff.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on April 29, 2015 in Ponies, Reading 2015, Reviews

 

8 responses to “Pony Stories 398

  1. Pascoite Fics

    April 29, 2015 at 8:28 pm

    Fluff, you say? And two #397 posts? Glory be!

     
    • Griffin

      April 29, 2015 at 8:33 pm

      Of course not, I never leave evidence of messing up the numbers in post titles. And yes, that story had pretty much no substance. Fluffy as heck.

       
  2. Logan

    April 29, 2015 at 10:20 pm

    Heh, I think you’re the first reviewer to DNF one of my fics. Shame it’s one nobody else has ever reviewed either. 😛 The description is in verse, and it’s listed as being in the “Poetry” group, so the clues were there! But never mind. I do actually plan to do a reading of it at some point, since I really like it in spite of the limited appeal (given that it’s a Newborn Cuties crossover…) but I wouldn’t go holding your breath…

    when exactly, just based on the offline time, you could consider a person not active anymore?

    I tend to feel a month is a reasonable amount of time. That said, I had a response to a comment I left on GrapeVino’s Many Moons Ago after 16 weeks just recently! So who knows?

     
    • Griffin

      April 29, 2015 at 10:28 pm

      Yeah, looking back at the description afterward I realize it was in verse. Before I read it I thought it was just a big block of badly formatted poorly written text. Which probably says more about my tendency to sometimes skim descriptions than anything else. Also, the recommended/similar/author story list on the side pushes the groups bit down below the edge of the screen so I hardly ever see it.

       
      • Logan

        April 29, 2015 at 10:37 pm

        Before I read it I thought it was just a big block of badly formatted poorly written text.

        That description applies to all my stories, doesn’t it? 😀

         
      • Griffin

        April 29, 2015 at 10:41 pm

        Not the stories themselves!

         
      • Griffin

        April 29, 2015 at 10:47 pm

        I mean, I’ve read three of your stories and the tally is one that was great, one that was so-so, and one I didn’t finish because I wasn’t expecting verse. So haven’t actually hit any bad quality from you yet.

         
      • Logan

        April 30, 2015 at 12:08 pm

        That smiley was there for a reason, you know… 😉

        And I’m sure I could produce some truly bad-quality work if you really wanted. 😛

         

Leave a Reply

