RSS

Pony Stories 400

01 May

Biiig rooound numbers. First of a new month. A new month of optimism and opportunity. Might even get some writing on a new story, or finish up a incomplete one, sometime this month. Certainly plan on getting some editing help on previous stories in my continuing, if slow, quest to actually understand grammar. Also, putting my old reviews over on FimFiction has really hammered in how many of them I’ve done. I’m only up to about 130 of the R4 posts there, and this is the 400th Pony Stories post here. So much pony fiction. Bookshelf feature over there estimates I’ve read over 30 million pony words. Jeeze.

Big Master Review List stats: Authors: [2190], Stories [5012], Total Reviews: [7993]

  • I’ll Fly Higher by FanNotANerd
  • Schemering Sintel by N00813
  • A Dashed Reputation by Dubs Rewatcher

I’ll Fly Higher by FanNotANerd

Eh, could have been a lot better. One or two typos, one or two format mistakes. Mostly there isn’t any reason to the main tragedy. Rainbow Dash is dead because, well, she needs to be dead for the story. No rhyme or reason to it. Comes off as sad just for the sake of being sad. So many reasons you could use to kill of Dash, and this author doesn’t use anything. Just flies too high, passes out, falls and hits the ground at terminal velocity. While a team of highly trained stunt fliers either doesn’t notice or just watch and don’t do anything even though they are all lower and could catch her. Bleh.

Schemering Sintel by N00813

Well, that was horribly depressing. Quality story, but not one I’d ever read again. Had a few pinches of worldbuilding. Mostly in the vein of the world being much more dangerous outside of Equestria. A classical tragedy in the the main character is her own downfall. After a fashion anyway. Still want to smack Twilight for her decision at the end. I’ll say that the ending wasn’t a very bright and happy one. Still, it didn’t feel like it was a complete removal from the core pony. The author managed to make it feel like Twilight had left behind the hope and brightness of the show as she left Equestria. So the flashbacks are basically showing her journey both physically and thematically/emotional away from the ideals of friendship and optimism.

A Dashed Reputation by Dubs Rewatcher

Light silly comedy. No real characters or plot, just a series of hijinks preventing Dash from accomplishing her goal.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on May 1, 2015 in Ponies, Reading 2015, Reviews

 

7 responses to “Pony Stories 400

  1. iisawiisaw

    May 1, 2015 at 2:37 pm

    Schemering Sintel has been on my list for a long time, and now I can take it off. Thanks for saving me from horribly depressing literature!

     
    • Griffin

      May 1, 2015 at 5:08 pm

      Yay for being useful. Its a good story, just has a generally downward mood and a unhappy ending.

       
    • Griffin

      May 1, 2015 at 5:44 pm

      The funny thing, is compared to a story I’ve read since I wouldn’t call Sintel all that depressing.

       
      • iisawiisaw

        May 2, 2015 at 10:40 pm

        That’s damning with faint praise, you know! There’re still too many good fics with happy endings that I haven’t read yet. When I get too cheerful, I’ll reconsider. 😉

        And now I have to ask… which story is the REAL downer?

         
      • Griffin

        May 2, 2015 at 11:01 pm

        Mostly I’ve already gone through all the cheerful stories in my read later list. That story is actually one of the ones I cover tomorrow.

         
  2. William Antonelli (@DubsRewatcher)

    May 2, 2015 at 3:11 am

    Holy hell. Way to pick an old fic of mine!

    “Dashed Reputation” was the third fic I ever wrote. Honestly, although there’s definitely a lot of stuff in it I wouldn’t dare do today, I’m pretty happy with how it came out. Glad to hear that you got some amusement out of it.

     
    • Griffin

      May 2, 2015 at 10:00 pm

      Yeah, trying to clear my read later list from the oldest fics and going forward.

       

Leave a Reply

