RSS

Pony Stories 406

08 May

Getting too big a backlog of stories. At that point where my reactions to a story aren’t going to be posted for like a week. I like to be able to respond to things a bit faster than that. Say if another person recommends a story, or another story gets lots of attention, I sometimes would like to be able to read and put my own thoughts out here promptly. I attempted to solve that by reading a bunch of long stories back to back, but the third one kind of killed my momentum. So, gonna crowd-source this since my own read-later list has run out of the longer stories. You guys should give me the longest (wordcount-wise) stories on your to-read lists.

Big Master Review List stats: Authors: [2196], Stories [5042], Total Reviews: [8053]

  • Rise of the Phoenix Empress by Chengar Qordath
  • Flight of the Magpie by DuncanR
  • There, They’re… by FanNotANerd

Rise of the Phoenix Empress by Chengar Qordath

An interesting alternate universe. The main character reads much like the Sunset Shimmer of his other work, but not identical. The same character in a different situation basically. Anyway, this was quite good and was an enjoyable read.

Flight of the Magpie by DuncanR

A little to clever in some places, but I enjoyed it quite a bit. Was an interesting look at the subject matter. Which is something of a spoiler so I won’t mention what that subject matter is. I will say that the thief is caught in the first chapter and the rest if the story is the inspector dealing with abstract philosophic concepts dealing with the thief’s guilt and/or innocence.

There, They’re… by FanNotANerd

A very good adventure story in the feel of the show. This could easily be a two part episode(s). I liked it much better than the other story I read a while back about something wrong with writing and Twilight has to fix it.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on May 8, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

14 responses to “Pony Stories 406

  1. xjuggernaughtx

    May 8, 2015 at 10:04 am

    Green by Steel Resolve is the longest story on my list.

     
    • Griffin

      May 8, 2015 at 11:36 am

      Knew I should have been more specific! I’ve got that one on my incomplete list. As soon as it finishes up I’ll be reading it.

       
  2. Soge

    May 8, 2015 at 12:01 pm

    Of the completed stories in my RIL you haven’t reviewed I got:

    Through the Well of Pirene by Ether Echoes
    Days of Wasp and Spider by Luna-tic Scientist
    The Mare in the High Castle by ponichaeism
    Stages by Bunnybooze79

     
    • Griffin

      May 8, 2015 at 12:28 pm

      In fact, I have reviewed one of those. The other three are getting downloaded though. Two of them are stories I was waiting to finish up and forgot they finished.

       
  3. iisawiisaw

    May 8, 2015 at 1:17 pm

    I’m going by file size, because I’m looking at these on my kindle, so they may not be exactly accurate. In descending order of largeness:
    Stardust – Arad
    The Dusk Guard_ Rise – Viking ZX
    The Road Not Taken – levarien
    Inner Glory – Erindor
    Days of Wasp and Spider – Luna-tic Scientist
    Marks of Harmony – Lapis-Lazuli and Inky J
    Siren Song – GaPJaxie
    The Rhythm Of The Dance – BlackRoseRaven

     
    • Griffin

      May 8, 2015 at 2:34 pm

      Cool, thanks. Already read three of those, but that should keep me going for a while with long stuff.

       
      • iisawiisaw

        May 8, 2015 at 2:57 pm

        Now that I’m thinking about it, I probably added some of them because of your reviews!

         
      • Griffin

        May 8, 2015 at 4:00 pm

        Could be! I liked them quite a bit.

         
  4. Present Perfect

    May 8, 2015 at 3:55 pm

    The longest on mine is that big sumbitch by Cap’n Chryssalid, I can’t remember what it’s called.

     
    • Griffin

      May 8, 2015 at 3:58 pm

      If its the Crown one, waiting for it to be finished.

       
      • Present Perfect

        May 8, 2015 at 7:00 pm

        Ah shoot, it’s still incomplete? D: FFS.

        Well, after actually looking at my RIL, I find it’s The Games We Play by Absolute Anonymous.

         
      • Griffin

        May 8, 2015 at 9:14 pm

        Yep. Incomplete at 783,698 words and the most recent chapter went up 9th Jun 2014.

         
  5. Logan

    May 11, 2015 at 8:32 pm

    My longest five RiL entries are:

    The Immortal Game by AestheticB
    The Dusk Guard: Rise by VikingZX
    The Flight of the Alicorn by Ponydora Prancypants
    The Third Generation by Candle Light
    The Mare in the High Castle by ponichaeism

    All over 150,000 words.

     
    • Griffin

      May 12, 2015 at 10:50 pm

      Piff, those are easy.

      Really good.
      Really good.
      Good.
      Didn’t finish due to style choices.
      Actually coming up on the review-ish rotation in the next couple of days.

       

Leave a Reply

