RSS

Pony Stories 407

09 May

Thank you for those that tossed long stories at me. I now have approximately 2.3 Fallout: Equestrias (1,550,000 words) of ponyfic to read in long stories. Hopefully that will keep me busy for a while without piling up reviews. Plus it’ll let me comment on long stories in people’s read later piles. Which is nice, since I like to be useful for other people in small ways.

Big Master Review List stats: Authors: [2197], Stories [5042], Total Reviews: [8061]

  • The Twilight of Her Singularity by Foals Errand
  • Title Match by Zap Apple Smash
  • Verse Averse: Tales of the Versebreakers by horizon

The Twilight of Her Singularity by Foals Errand

A good Twilight and Celestia romance. A good mix of sweetness and comedy. However, certainly not for anyone who doesn’t like that particular pairing.

Title Match by Zap Apple Smash

I know that it is because its not a toy commercial kids show under corporate oversight, but I do think I enjoy the Lunaverse stories more than the show. This was a nice tightly focused story that had my favorite version of Ponyville, interesting zebra based worldbuilding, and I had missed the breaking window running joke. Glad this one finally wrapped up so I could read it. Oh, and fun chapter titles is something I always enjoy.

Verse Averse: Tales of the Versebreakers by horizon

This was very good. Speculative fiction at its finest, or at least its most creative. I’m actually reminded of the Machine of Death stories. Simple concept taken in all sorts of directions by different authors. Musicals as a force to be stopped and/or controlled. I think my favorite idea in this was the one where harmony is perfect, but ponies are not. So whenever harmony tries to express itself too strongly that’s not actually good because ponies can’t handle perfection.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 9, 2015 in Ponies, Reading 2015, Reviews

 

2 responses to “Pony Stories 407

  1. Pascoite Fics

    May 11, 2015 at 8:59 am

    The story that horizon originally wrote with versebreakers in it was fun. After that, I really didn’t see the point. I would have called this an obvious play for self-aggrandizement, except horizon doesn’t do that, so… I guess it just seemed like a good idea for a compilation, but for me, the charm of the versebreakers was that it came up as a clever surprise. Once I know it’s coming, it ruins it.

     
    • Griffin

      May 11, 2015 at 8:45 pm

      I thought it was interesting to have lots of slightly different twists on the idea. Not all of them were good, but there was a couple that had interesting explorations of the concept.

       

Leave a Reply

