RSS

Pony Stories 409

11 May

Whew, almost missed posting something yesterday because of a scheduling screw up. Glad I had enough focus to actually check before going to bed. Then I almost miss todays! I think my brain is trying to perform a coup against… my brain? Now I’m confused. The psychological warfare has already begun! Better get to the ponyfic reviews before I convince myself I’m a very confused duck.

  • Life in the Wasteland by NorsePony
  • Running From Myself by torrentialCAM
  • Born a Unicorn by Cynical
  • Tales of the Tutelary Spirits by Whateverdudezb

Life in the Wasteland by NorsePony

All the stuff I enjoy in post apocalypse stories very neatly put into a single story. Plus changelings, which is another favorite of mine. I enjoyed it quite as bit. I heard this was one of the better stories to come out of the contest and I’m happy to report it certainly deserves the praise.

Running From Myself by torrentialCAM

Nice character study of Twilight Sparkle. A look at what might have happened when she was a little filly that made her such a neurotic wreck.

Born a Unicorn by Cynical

A nicely done what-if character study. Was enjoyable, if not exactly complex or deep. The emotions are nice and sincere though. I liked it, but was both expecting and hoping there would be more dialogue. A bit more back-and-forth between Twilight and somepony else about things.

Tales of the Tutelary Spirits by Whateverdudezb

Three fables set in this future universe that I have enjoyed a lot. This author continues their streak of well written mythic-type storytelling.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 11, 2015 in Ponies, Reading 2015, Reviews

 

Leave a Reply

