RSS

Pony Stories 436

24 Jun

Watched the new episode just recently. The pony with Adagio’s hair style was freaking me out. Like, at first I thought she was just a background pony for the first shot, but then she keeps showing up in the crowd scenes and often as the center focus pony. Oh, and drunk-on-no-sleep Twilight is adorable. Napkins! Bookbed.

In other news, apparently FimFiction is now just stripping out the cover images when you download stories as ebooks. It was amusing before when I was getting the first image the author put in, even if it has been changed since, but now it’s not giving anything. Grrr. Guess I switched to reading mostly online using my tablet just in time.

Alarm Clock by Meta Four

Okay, this one was a lot of fun. Glad I finally got around to it. A good adventure story with one of the best versions of Ditzy I’ve run across. Oh, and extra amusement. Ditzy’s line about accidentally revealing Bon Bon’s real name is Sweetie Drops and that she’s a spy. The line is a joke in the story, but given the episode Slice of Life, it’s pretty funny. Anyway, I would love to read more casual adventure stories like this. It’s a really fun genre when done right.

The Regular by Ruirik

This one was good. Not quite as touching as A Cup of Joe, but that’s hardly a fair measure for comparison. This one is definitely recommended for all ponyfic readers.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 24, 2015 in Ponies, Reading 2015, Reviews

 

3 responses to “Pony Stories 436

  1. Loganberry

    June 24, 2015 at 9:49 pm

    I hadn’t realised Fimf was stripping out cover images now. I’ve been using HTML files for a while (and adding images manually in Calibre), since the .epub ones don’t retain italics and that makes some stories very hard to follow. Bit of an odd change to make now, though.

     
    • Griffin

      June 25, 2015 at 4:26 pm

      Yeah, it’s kind of weird. I don’t like how Calibre converts html so I’ve been using the epub downloads. Mostly just as a backup since I’m reading most stories online these days.

       
      • Loganberry

        June 25, 2015 at 5:52 pm

        Yeah, I did have to mess around with the conversion options a little to get it working how I wanted. Still isn’t ideal with chaptering, but since 90% of the stories I read/review are one-shots it’s not a big deal for me.

         

Leave a Reply

