RSS

Pony Stories 443

03 Jul

Still chugging along. Not quite as much energy as I’d like, but managing to focus on doing semi-productive stuff like blogging and updating the big master review list. Ah, the joys of low expectations. Anyway! Big master list news, all the updates have caused a bit of changes in the reviewer lineup. Cerulean Voice has not just pulled up out of the Under 100 misc columns, but has zoomed past the four lowest reviewers and will probably continue to cut his way through the ranks of reviewer battledome towards the top. It looks like Soge will soon be defeating Seattle’s Angels and advancing a slot as well. In the top ranks Louder Yay and Titanium Dragon are battling fiercely against each other, neck and neck for the coveted #1 spot (not counting the two fixed positions and the actual top spot PresentPerfect will probably hold forever).

Big Master Review List stats: Authors: [2275], Stories [5283], Total Reviews: [8518]

Now for today’s reviews:

Burn The Fallow Land by RainbowBob

This story felt incomplete. It mostly pulled together at the end, but even so it felt choppy and missing something central. Some of the action scenes were a little too much movie action scenes. Overall it was decent to good. Though I’m not sure if it was supposed to be a retelling of the exile of Nightmare Moon, or a alternate version of the event.

After The Party by Charles Spratt

Not a bad story, but a bit on the telly side. I mean it’s got the line ‘they sat down to start their conversation’ in it. Still, decent idea and not a bad character study if Pinkie Pie. Plus it has a comment that Vinyl is so quiet that Pinkie thinks she is mute, which is amusing given what we’ve heard from the show people.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on July 3, 2015 in Ponies, Reading 2015, Reviews

 

5 responses to “Pony Stories 443

  1. Present Perfect

    July 3, 2015 at 7:17 pm

    Is it weird that I feel let down when someone pans a story and it turns out not to be on my RIL? Like, I coulda knocked it down by a whole story! But now I can only remain in parity. 😦

     
    • Griffin

      July 3, 2015 at 11:31 pm

      Not weird, just optimistic. That’s why I’m considering starting to pick from other people’s RILs. With the bookshelf system it’s easy to see overlap when browsing other people’s lists.

       
  2. Loganberry

    July 3, 2015 at 7:28 pm

    According to your figures, I’m actually just ahead of TD (306 to 304). I don’t personally count the two “reviews” of my own fics I did, but since you do I won’t argue! I don’t expect that lead to last as he’s more consistent in reviewing multiple fics, but I’ll bathe in the glory while I can! 😀

     
    • Griffin

      July 3, 2015 at 11:30 pm

      You’d think so, but those numbers are in fact inaccurate! I still haven’t caught up on adding all of his to the list yet. So if you add in the five reviews in his post I’ve got bookmarked, he’s still ahead by a slim margin.

       
      • Loganberry

        July 4, 2015 at 7:34 pm

        Aha! Oh well, even bathing in inaccurate glory is something. 😛

         

Leave a Reply

