RSS

Big Master Review List futzing around

23 Jul

As usual, my fiddling around with the big master review list to try and sort the short story stuff out has revealed at least one mistake. Apparently I mis-linked a review for An Election in Ponyville by Esle Ynopemos. If you’ve reviewed this story, let me know so I can actually have it on the list properly

Now, more Big Master Review List stats/trivia. I’m trying something new with the list, sorta. The main page is still there and I’m almost done updating it. However the amount of empty whitespace there has been bugging me. Just haven’t really figured out a good way to deal with it that is both effective, doesn’t bother my obsessive-complusive brain, and is easy to maintain (for relative values of easy). Finally decided to try one of my ideas. Splitting it up into several different sheets. I’ve resisted this because, for one, I enjoy having it as one huge list for people to scroll through and use the find function to get through. However just taking the 1 and 2 review stories and giving them a separate list (in theory) help cut down on the empty space

The test for this is here. Take a look and tell me what you think. It’s in a slightly different form than the main list, but should be just as understandable.

One side-effect is that I now have another set of stats to toss out. The stats for the 1-review stories. How many reviews each reviewer has done for a story nobody else on the list has reviewed. Single reviews total out at 3436. That’s of 5367 total stories and 8645 total reviews. So single-review stories are two-thirds of the stories on the list and a little under half of the total reviews. Which has remained more or less a stable constant. Or at least the 2/3rds ratio.

Now for the numbers, when rough percentages of overlap for each reviewer. Format: Reviewer [single review stories / total reviews] (percentage of stories not covered by others.)

  • My Reviews [477 / 1648] (29%)
  • One Man’s Pony Ramblings ( 170 / 590 ) 29%
  • PresentPerfect [937 / 2101] (45%)
  • Titanium Dragon [133 / 360] (37%)
  • Louder Yay [113 / 315] (36%)
  • Pleasant Reviews! [240 / 299] (80%)
  • JohnPerry [110 / 296] (37%)
  • WRITE [206 / 268] (77%)
  • Seattle’s Angels [87 / 227] (38%)
  • Soge [32 / 245] (13%)
  • Badfic Slaughterhouse [110 / 187] (59%)
  • The Royal Guard [39 / 166] (23%)
  • Rinnaul [140 / 163] (86%)
  • Cerulean Voice [45 / 116] (38%)
  • InquisitorM [0 / 110] (0%)
  • Foals Errand [92 / 110] (83%)
  • Everfree Spotlight [33 / 107] (31%)
  • Pony Fiction Vault [14 / 103] (13%)
  • Misc Under 100 [458 / 1234] (37%)    Numbers in order, hee. Didn’t realize that the four columns of misc added up to the total of 1234. You know what, I gotta mess with this. Going to go read and review two of their stories just so the two numbers are 456/1234.

Once again, kind of fun to see how things match up. 30-40% seems to be the average. With seven sources in the 37-38% area.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on July 23, 2015 in Big Master Review List, Ponies, Reviewers

 

9 responses to “Big Master Review List futzing around

  1. Soge

    July 23, 2015 at 1:23 pm

    One interesting thing I noticed is that the groups dedicated to author feedback (Like WRITE or the PCaRG) have much higher ratios than most of the others, as well as people who review unusual fics, like Prak.

    Also, are M’s stats right? I know he reviewed tons of contest fics (meaning he should overlap with PP quite a bit), but a 0% is surprising. Also, my ratio seems wrong. According to those numbers, it should be 13%.

     
    • Griffin

      July 23, 2015 at 1:40 pm

      Yeah, really does highlight that those groups aren’t really reviews per say. As far as the list tells me M’s numbers are right. I’ll double check to see where I messed up yours.

       
    • Griffin

      July 23, 2015 at 1:50 pm

      Yep, 13%. Guess I skipped that one and it went with the default number I tossed it while I was formatting it all. I tend to do that for lists. Just put something in to see how it looks then copy/paste the actual numbers in after.

      As for Mr. InquisitorM, looks like about 80% of his reviews fall in the 2 or 3 review categories. Which means that he probably doesn’t take much risks on unknown stories, and probably that the stuff he recommends gets read by other reviewers fairly quickly. 61 of his 110 reviews have only one other reviewer on them.

       
      • Griffin

        July 23, 2015 at 1:54 pm

        Hmmm… Just checked a bit more in-depth and looks like we can blame the hurricane of reviews that is PresentPerfect. 59 of InquisitorM’s two-review stories the other review is by PresentPerfect.

         
      • inquisitormence

        July 23, 2015 at 2:22 pm

        Well, both PP and I did all of the Outside Insight competition.

         
  2. Titanium Dragon

    July 23, 2015 at 3:58 pm

    It is so weird that most of us have reviewed vastly less than half stories that have no other reviews, and yet they make up the majority of reviews. I guess it makes sense, though, given that they’re additive.

     
    • Griffin

      July 23, 2015 at 8:46 pm

      Statistics is weird like that sometimes. I think….

      Wait a minute, I might have gotten the numbers wrong.

       
      • Griffin

        July 23, 2015 at 8:53 pm

        Ah, that’s the disconnect. I actually did a horrible job of explaining it up there. For evidence I present that I just confused myself with the numbers.

        Single reviews make up 40% of the total reviews.
        Stories with one review make up 64% of the total stories.

        But yes, everyone’s single review pile is independent while everyone shares the same multi-review pile. If that makes sense?

         
  3. Loganberry

    July 24, 2015 at 3:42 pm

    Personally I quite like white space — I’ve always disliked cramped spreadsheets — but it’s not a big thing, and after all you’re the person doing all the work here! So do whatever makes you comfortable. :

     

Leave a Reply

