RSS

Pony Stories 451

29 Jul

Looking forward to next month even more now. Not only going to the world scifi con (where I will spend probably all my time working a bookstore in the dealer’s room), but just got the go-ahead to borrow a car and make it a roadtrip! Four days there of just me, the open road, barely any human interaction, and every episode of the Writing Excuses podcast. Then a more lesiurely 4-5 days back where I might visit a few friends on my way back across the entire country. Given that I’m starting on the east coast and the con is pretty much on the west coast.

  • Shades of Grey by InquisitorM
  • I, Paladin by InquisitorM
  • Their True Desires by Charles Spratt

Shades of Grey by InquisitorM

This was another really good story that I felt I was missing quite a bit. Seemed like there was a whole channel of information I was missing. This time it was that the characters were acting a little abruptly, or more precisely they were reacting in ways that didn’t really match up to what was going on. I’m pretty sure I got the general sweep and thrust of everything, but felt like I was missing all of the nuances and deep emotional stuff. Still, was a good story with neat ideas and I’d recommend it to ponyfic readers.

I, Paladin by InquisitorM

I’m sad there won’t be more of this (anytime soon at least) because this is a wonderful start to things and I do like both Artemis and the idea of Princess Luna having paladins in the way he describes them. To call back to Shades of Grey, they don’t follow Luna but they will go with her into the dark places she wants to go. Companions and friends, not subordinates. It has such wonderful potential to be one of the best damaged Luna character studies out there. Of course I might be based since I like the author’s writing.

Their True Desires by Charles Spratt

Not quite sure why this story is here. It’s not a particularly well done example if horror, it’s not really a neat example of the form. It supposedly a phone call, but it describes scenes and has at least one past conversation done in full. The idea isn’t original enough to carry it on its own. So can’t really recommend this one. Got to wonder if this was from the recent stories or the lower rated end of my RiL.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 29, 2015 in Ponies, Reading 2015, Reviews

 

2 responses to “Pony Stories 451

  1. inquisitormence

    July 30, 2015 at 5:07 am

    Yeah, the Prof. said much the same. At this point, it’s a little frustrating because I don’t know what it is that is passing people by, or even which characters’ motivations.

    Eh. It’s old. Too old to get worked up over.

     
    • Griffin

      July 31, 2015 at 4:18 am

      It’s something I could go through pretty much line by line and point out, but there really isn’t any middle ground between the vague and precise extremes of that particular scale.

       

Leave a Reply

