RSS

Pony Stories 455

05 Aug

Finally gave into temptation and been playing Diablo 3 for a week or two now. The same addictive gameplay as the previous titles. Plus I enjoyed a lot of the callbacks and overlap with the previous games. Good continuity of experience there. However, I don’t think all the D3 writers were talking to each other. There is a shopkeep character that is in camp all through the game. Then in the expansion she shows up during a mission and acts as if it was the first time she was meeting you. I suspect wires got crossed somewhere and a character got replaced with her one way or another. Either it was supposed to be a different character for most of the game, or a different character for the expansion.

Big Master Review List stats: Authors: [2305], Stories [5461], Total Reviews: [8855]

  • One Night at Fluttershy’s by PaulAsaran
  • Dim Sun by RainbowBob

One Night at Fluttershy’s by PaulAsaran

Pretty good. I liked this version of mute Vinyl. I enjoyed that Octavia could understand all of Vinyl’s gestures perfectly, and the narration didn’t try to translate at all. Good use of showing instead of telling.

Dim Sun by RainbowBob

I liked this a lot. Mostly because it was so different. Reminded me of the main reason I read mostly fan fiction these days. Anyway, a brief language rich character study of Princess Celestia. This is yet another story I’d love to say more about, but can’t think of anything worthwhile to say. Just that I’d highly recommend this to just about everybody. If it’s not on your read later list you should put it there. If it is on your read later list,but it closer to the top of the queue.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 5, 2015 in Ponies, Reading 2015, Reviews

 

5 responses to “Pony Stories 455

  1. iisawiisaw

    August 5, 2015 at 1:10 pm

    I have to disagree about Dim Sun. If you’re going to paint a picture of Celestia that is so at odds with her show personality, you’d better have a damned good explanation for it. And drinking whiskey with ICE in it? I can’t see Celestia ever being that low-class no matter how morose she might get! 😉

    One Night was lots of fun, though!

     
    • Griffin

      August 6, 2015 at 12:33 am

      Hey, Celestia doesn’t have much respect for any drink younger than she is.

       
      • iisawiisaw

        August 6, 2015 at 12:52 am

        A good rule for people in collage, but the immortality thing kinda throws it out of whack! What’s left? Water. I’d never drink water; fish fuck in it.

         
  2. Present Perfect

    August 5, 2015 at 6:42 pm

    I found D3 dull, mostly because it’s so straightforward. I never made it out of act I, and then sort of forgot it existed. :B

     
    • Griffin

      August 6, 2015 at 12:31 am

      Yep, you basically have to have the right levers in your head to enjoy it. On occasion I do enjoy the click-and-loot monotony. Of course I also pretty much forgot about it for several years after it came out, so it’s not exactly a must-have.

       

Leave a Reply

