RSS

Pony Stories 461

13 Aug

Today is the day I’m heading out for the road trip to the world scifi convention. Be almost three weeks away from home. I’m planning on getting at least wifi at the hotels I stay at, and I’ve got the wordpress app on my little mini tablet, so I’ll still be able to reply to comments and such here. Probably won’t be popping in over there on FimFiction though. I might check any messages or alerts for comments on my page or story every now and then, but I plan to leave the feed alone until I get back. Going to be one heck of a scroll down the feed when I’m ready to catch up. Averaging 20-30 notifications a day, gone for nearly three weeks, equals lots and lots of notifications. Also means I need to be downloading the html files for any fanfics I want to read while on the road and convert them so I can read them in the evenings. One of my secondary goals for the trip is to try and cut down my read later lists while I’m away from the constant distractions of computer games and internet.

Coincidentally, today we start something of a theme. Went on a binge reading a whole bunch of Estee’s stories. Mostly all the completed ones I haven’t read yet. So today, tomorrow, and probably the next day are going to be all Estee ponyfics. Spoiler: I enjoyed pretty much all of them for various reasons. This author has a fairly wide range of stories to tell, even if certain themes get repeated a lot. Starting off, we’ve got a collection of sorta-kinda human in Equestria stories.

  • Tales Of The Canterlot Deportation Agency: A Typical Day by Estee
  • Tales Of The Canterlot Deportation Agency: Ben by Estee
  • Tales Of The Canterlot Deportation Agency: Bree by Estee
  • Tales Of The Canterlot Deportation Agency: Melissa by Estee

Tales Of The Canterlot Deportation Agency: A Typical Day by Estee

Very nice example of the montage/collage style of story. A tale told with brief bits and pieces of scenes over one pony’s day. A few funny moments, a few sad moments, the usual spread of emotions the author puts into their stories. Is it a great fic? No, but it was a good read and I’m looking forward to the others in the same setting.

Tales Of The Canterlot Deportation Agency: Ben by Estee

Not much pony here. Both thematically and literally. Only one pony shows up, just about every character is human. Yet this is good classic scifi. Take an idea and just explore it for a bit. In this case taking the idea of the previous story of humans popping in and focusing on one particular human. One from a horrible techno dystopia. I enjoyed reading it, and I’d recommend it for someone wanting to read a scifi short story.

Tales Of The Canterlot Deportation Agency: Bree by Estee

Another one with very little pony. More of a crossover than the previous. I enjoyed it quite a bit. Lots of worldbuilding stuff left unexplained. I had my theories what it was a crossover with, but wasn’t sure until near the end. Not sure I’d recommend it for someone wanting ponyfic, but it is a good story if a bit on the dark side. If you liked the previous one, might give this a try.

Tales Of The Canterlot Deportation Agency: Melissa by Estee

This was different. Just as good as the previous two, but not the same kind. Not sure how to put it. Had a very interesting version of Lyra’s life. The story is basically a human and Lyra sharing their life stories together with music. Plus a thoughtful look at what is a very possible side effect of cutie marks. I’m not entirely sure I liked it, but that’s only because I was hoping for something like the previous. Kind of interesting how each of these three stories was kind of an experiment with storytelling. Each one different in both style and theme.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 13, 2015 in Ponies, Reading 2015, Reviews

 

4 responses to “Pony Stories 461

  1. iisawiisaw

    August 14, 2015 at 4:43 pm

    I was doubtful about these, but I think I’ll have to give them a look.

    Have fun at Worldcon! If you can get into the Hugo ceremony, please do a review!

     
    • Griffin

      August 14, 2015 at 10:34 pm

      Probably won’t be getting to that. Spending most of the time in the dealer’s room selling books. Might duck out for a panel or two if anything in the schedule catches my eye. The Hugos don’t really interest me all that much.

       
      • iisawiisaw

        August 14, 2015 at 11:53 pm

        Well, this year the ceremony will either be a riot or a model of restrained emotions. I’m hoping for a riot, of course, but I’m sure there will be plenty written about it afterward.

         
      • Griffin

        August 15, 2015 at 10:07 pm

        If there is a riot that spills over into the dealer’s room, I’ll be sure to mention something about the Hugos.

         

Leave a Reply

