RSS

Pony Stories 462

14 Aug

Day two of the Estee Extravaganza. I had a whole long thing here, but then I moved all the scheduled dates forward by one so it got moved to the previous post. Which means this is also day two of the worldcon roadtrip. Hopefully this first full day of driving goes well. Wonder if I’m still listening solely to Writing Excuses, or I’ve decided to mix it up with the pony-themed listening I brought along. One of which being the audiobook of Whom The Princesses Would Destroy. Which I’m really looking forward to.

Night before edit: First day of the trip went well. Typing this at the hotel right before going to bed. Was a half-day really. Got out later than I had half-planned, but there is plenty of slack in the schedule so it didn’t matter much the exact time I got on the road. About five hours of driving, a good warmup for tomorrow. Though I’m almost free of new england roads! Free, I’ll be free of them soon! Straight lines and grid pattern street plans are on the horizon. A good start to things.

  • Lazy River by Estee
  • Dear Friend, by Estee
  • Permanent Record by Estee
  • While Their Name’s Still Spoken by Estee

Lazy River by Estee

Wow. This might be the best Applejack loses her parents story I’ve read. One of the best ones at the very least. Not to mention what is a excellent look at Earth Pony magic. Plus its got a great version of a younger Pinkie Pie and how she handles moving to Ponyville. Not that the worldbuilding or character study are the main focus. That is firmly on Applejack’s emotions and viewpoint. This one gets a highly recommended from me.

Dear Friend, by Estee

Hee. Comedy gold. Just what I needed after the seriousness of the previous story. Lots of fun.

Permanent Record by Estee

Not fluffy fun as the previous, but still amusing. The tags are fairly accurate. Just so long as you take the dark tag as just a pinch in the primarily comedy story.

While Their Name’s Still Spoken by Estee

That was good, but a tad brutal. A bit hard to read as well. Both from the emotions in it and the style it is written in. I’d still recommend it though. As long as you know it’s a bit of a rough read and things might not make sense until near the end. Now I need another fluffy fun story to balance things out.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 14, 2015 in Ponies, Reading 2015, Reviews

 

4 responses to “Pony Stories 462

  1. iisawiisaw

    August 14, 2015 at 4:44 pm

    Road trips are awesome… and with audiobooks, even better!

     
    • Griffin

      August 14, 2015 at 10:35 pm

      Funny that, I’m only taking the one audiobook. Everything else is basically non-fiction audio stuff. Well, and music. Mostly just writing podcasts.

       
      • iisawiisaw

        August 14, 2015 at 11:51 pm

        I include non-fiction as audiobooks. I’m a podcast junkie too.

         
      • Griffin

        August 14, 2015 at 11:57 pm

        Gotcha. Lot of them were ripped from YouTube. Of course, my options are a little more limited since I lost the memory card with the files on it I was going to listen too.

         

Leave a Reply

