RSS

Roadtrip 2 day 4

28 Aug

Just lots of driving. Didn’t worry about making time or anything. Not much anyway. Which, weirdly enough, meant I didn’t actually stop for long anyplace. I could have stopped for an hour for lunch to do some writing or reading, but decided not to. Sometimes my brain is odd in that I react to limitations by going against them. Have a time deadline? Stop at someplace for a while to stretch my legs and write a bit. No deadline? Stop only briefly for gas or to pick up food to eat while I drive. My brain really is contrary. Anyway, should be home in two more days. Looking forward to getting back to my own computer. Catching up on my webcomics, dealing with the backlog of Fimfiction feed items. Seeing just how many reviews I’ll have to add to the big master list. I suspect I’ll be behind on that for quite a while. Even missing video games a little, though I do have one or two on the mini tablet to entertain myself. Fallout Shelter mostly.

Random thought of the day. Well, yesterday but I only remembered and wrote it down today. What if the Changeling drones weren’t sapient? Like they were just mindless animals controlled by Queen Chrysaslis. Except for one little clue (the eye-roll at Pinkie Pie) there isn’t actually any evidence they are sapient. Could just be barely sentient animals for all we know. Was wondering if there was any fan fiction that approached the Changelings from that angle.

Mostly had that thought because that’s kinda-sorta what I’ve got as a monster/enemy in a series of fantasy short stories I’ve been working on off and on. One true person controlling a horde of mindless minion monster thingies. Mine is a form of necromancy, but not skeletons or pretty much any of the classic trappings.

Fimfiction feed item count: 213

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 28, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Roadtrip 2 day 4

  1. Soge

    August 28, 2015 at 1:16 pm

    I have seen that approach to changelings before. I can’t exactly remember which fic, but there was one about some other hive of changelings that hated Chrysalis because she “burned” away all personalities from her changelings in order for them to become a better army. There are some other interpretation of this idea, but it isn’t at all uncommon.

     
    • Griffin

      August 28, 2015 at 11:14 pm

      Sounds like the stories where Twilight becomes a Changeling queen. Though even that isn’t quite as far as what I was thinking about. The feral drones are fairly common, but I was thinking of even further than that. Like the Changeling drones are literally extensions of the queen. Basically no different from toes or fingers for Chrysalis. But yeah, I do understand it’s not all that original an idea now that I’m thinking about it. Guess they can’t all be winners.

       
  2. iisawiisaw

    August 28, 2015 at 3:10 pm

    I did the mindless changeling thing in Hooves of Clay, but I think it was the wrong choice now. Limiting options/complications isn’t a good thing to do in fiction.

     
    • Griffin

      August 28, 2015 at 11:11 pm

      I’ll have to read that one. Or reread it if I have already and don’t remember. Depending on how you do it it doesn’t have to be limiting. The changeling drones just become an extension of Chrysaslis instead of characters by themselves. Just need to factor that in and make sure that new empty space is filled up with something else.

      Though that’s from pure theory from like twenty minutes of thinking about it. Actually having written something about it probably gives you an edge in knowing what the heck you are talking about.

       

Leave a Reply

