RSS

Pony Stories 470

07 Sep

Doing a good job writing every day. Which is a very nice feeling. Almost none of it is anything I want to share with my half-dozen strong audience though. Except for what I wrote just now (two days ago). However I had a bit of writing from the worldcon trip for yesterday and I’m trying to stick to my self-imposed weekly schedule and put my writing stuff on sundays. Much like I’m trying to keep new reviewer stuff on Saturdays. So I put up the new bit of writing for next Sunday. Which means I’m just going to have to wait to see how bad it scars you people with it’s bad grammar and shifting narration pov.

  • Everything You’ve Ever Wanted To Know About Wings (But Were Afraid To Ask) by mr maximus
  • My Little A.I. by teamidris
  • Baking is War, Sister by Einhander
  • Withdrawal by Raugos

Everything You’ve Ever Wanted To Know About Wings (But Were Afraid To Ask) by mr maximus

Fluffy fluff. Enjoyable, if a little bland. I like stories about Twilight adjusting to her wings though. Plus the ending punchline was really fun. The cover art is still one of my favorite pieces of pony fanart.

My Little A.I. by teamidris

Decent scifi story. A bit short, it doesn’t really go into any real detail. It’s more of an outline of a story really. Still, its an interesting look at an AI situation. Though the ending was a bit unsatisfying. Mostly because the lack of actual story, makes it seem a little abrupt. Looking at the wordcounts for the chapters on the story page I’m struck with just how short each chapter is. The story feels short, but not that short. So I’d also say that it’s a pretty good example of how to write fairly concise prose, even if it needed a little more polish.

Baking is War, Sister by Einhander

I enjoyed this a lot. Not sure I would call it a comedy. There is a bit of that, but it’s certainly not the main focus. It’s really just a slice of life with really strong emotional content. I always enjoy a book that manages to express a bit of my own neuroses and I could really empathize with Bon Bon’s reactions to things.

Withdrawal by Raugos

This one is a bit tricky for me to comment on. It does what it intends to do, and does it well, but there isn’t anything more to it. The story is a very well crafted story about Twilight dealing with magic addiction. It doesn’t pull punches and, as far as my limited knowledge goes, seems to be a mostly accurate look at such a thing. Yet that is all that’s there. No real world building. No character exploration aside from the addiction thing. The story is aggressively focused on Twilight Sparkle. Everypony else are basically secondary or tertiary characters. It would take almost no effort to convert this into a no-pony fantasy story that deals with the same issues. Since one of the reasons I like reading pony fan fiction so much is the worldbuilding aspects, this was a very well written story that kind of disappointed me.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on September 7, 2015 in Ponies, Reading 2015, Reviews

 

5 responses to “Pony Stories 470

  1. iisawiisaw

    September 7, 2015 at 4:40 pm

    Magic addiction? They did that on Buffy and it was of the dumbest ideas, ever. When Joss came back to the show the next season, he disliked it so much that he undid the whole plot line in one scene. Since magic is a talent/ability it would be like being addicted to playing music. Hard to make a believable problem out of that.

     
    • Griffin

      September 7, 2015 at 5:33 pm

      Well, all depends on how you are doing the magic bits. But in this case it wasn’t using the magic, but absorbing magic. In this case triggered by being the vessel for all three alicorn’s magic and then losing it.

       
      • iisawiisaw

        September 7, 2015 at 6:38 pm

        Hmn… might be worth a look. The concept might work, but of all the Mane Six, Twilight has got to have the least addictive personality.

         
      • inquisitormence

        September 7, 2015 at 8:00 pm

        Are you kidding? Twilight is virtually the poster-child for an addictive personality.

         
    • Soge

      September 7, 2015 at 8:25 pm

      The Wheel of Time series does some interesting things with the concept of magic addiction. The idea is that channeling magic feels incredible, making the world seem brighter and more interesting. However, the few men who are able to use magic slowly go insane whenever they use it. And, since using it feels so good, most don’t have the willpower to use their abilities. Finally, The only way to prevent these people from eventually misusing their powers in terrible ways is to completely sever their connection to magic – which leaves them so depressed that most end up committing suicide.

       

Leave a Reply

