RSS

Pony Stories 471

08 Sep

Let’s start with another shallow and trivial look at data from the big master review list. Today: which season is best season as decided by author names and titles of reviewed pony stories. Spring – 4, Summer – 13, Autumn – 17, Winter – 15. Sorry Spring, nobody likes you apparently.

Whoops, forgot to finish writing this and schedule it. Better get it up now since I’ll be at D&D for most of the afternoon and evening and don’t want to miss a day of posting when I’m doing good.

  • Until Forever by Pascoite
  • Ye Cannot Get Ye Flask by PresentPerfect
  • As a Mother by The Descendant
  • The Faceless Pony by Thanqol

Until Forever by Pascoite

A thoughtful short piece. Doesn’t really have an ending. It stops at a moment of realization for Twilight, but doesn’t have a real conclusion. Which works in this case. It lets the reader think about it instead of attempting to fix a specific end for what is more or less a bit of messy life.

Ye Cannot Get Ye Flask by PresentPerfect

If I paid more attention to story tags I wouldn’t get disappointed when a story isn’t what I thought it would be. Anyway, this was an interesting little fluffy story about Twilight Sparkle having a moment of personal enlightenment about proper social behavior.

As a Mother by The Descendant

Once again this author shows their skill at both worldbuilding and storytelling. This is a story about a single battle that manages to tell a story about both an entire war and also a good portion of Celestia’s history. Not a particular chunk of it, but showing her long life and how she endures the centuries and both loss and joy of them. Plus a pretty believable reason why Princess Celestia won’t have kids anytime soon. Highly recommended if you enjoy worldbuilding or ancient and somewhat sad Celestia.

The Faceless Pony by Thanqol

Fairly creepy. Though I suspect it would have had a bit more impact if I hadn’t been reading lots of Lovecraftian stories recently. So, somewhat recommended. It’s a creepy horror story that didn’t quite manage the horror part for me, mostly because my personal measure for that is all out of whack.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 8, 2015 in Ponies, Reading 2015, Reviews

 

3 responses to “Pony Stories 471

  1. iisawiisaw

    September 8, 2015 at 5:00 pm

    Oh carp! You’ve just added four stories to my pile. These all sound great to me… now all I need is a six month vacation to catch up!

     
  2. Present Perfect

    September 8, 2015 at 7:10 pm

    As a Mother is almost definitely Descendant’s greatest work.

    I’m sorry I trolled you with the title and chapter. :V

     
    • Griffin

      September 9, 2015 at 4:33 am

      Pifffff. My own fault for not paying attention. I wish more stories would surprise me with depth and character when I’m expecting throw-away jokes.

       

Leave a Reply

