RSS

Pony Stories 475

12 Sep

Writing everyday is still going pretty good. Yesterday I actually moved from just random free writing to actually doing a little bit of productive work on a in-progress story. If it keeps up I’ll be spending my writing hour doing productive writing sooner rather than later.

In other news, Outside the Reaching Sky is still a really good story. I read the Royal Canterlot Library interview about it and wanted to read it again. So I gave a glance and actually stayed up late reading it pretty much straight through. Which is impressive when you consider this is the third time I’ve read it and I knew everything that was going to happen. When a story can actually still be gripping when nothing is a surprise, that’s good work on the author’s part.

  • Mortality Report by Bad Horse
  • Apple Honey’s Perfectly Ordinary Day by Admiral Biscuit
  • Of Cottages and Cloud Houses by bookplayer

Mortality Report by Bad Horse

A story about immortality and gods. The crucial part of it is a subject I spend a bit of time thinking about. The difference between individual perspective and cosmic perspective. Or more precisely, mortal vs cosmic perspective. Do you make one person suffer now if it means saving a thousand lives two decades later? Two centuries? Most of the time I’ve got a pretty good handle on which side of that argument I fall on. It depends on the specific situation, rules, priorities, that sort of thing. Yet in this story I find myself frustrated in that it doesn’t give enough information to make that decision. So I can’t tell if Celestia is making the right choice. Which bugs me, but given the subject matter I think it’s a really nice thing to have the reader reaction to the moral dilemma be as mixed and vague as possible. Because in the end it is currently an unsolved problem.

So, I’ve heard good things about this story and now I’m going to add my recommendation to the litany. Highly recommended and if you want something to think about, give this a read. Just don’t expect it to have a conclusion. The story is about Celestia coming to a decision, but not the results of it.

Apple Honey’s Perfectly Ordinary Day by Admiral Biscuit

This author needs to write more. I think I’ve enjoyed every story of his I’ve read. Including this one. Slice of life, but not the fluffy kind. This is much more just a day in the life of a working pony. Does a really good job of showing both the character and the general atmosphere/culture of the place. As I mentioned in a previous review, this author is really good at the general social worldbuilding. I’d actually recommend this one as a good intro to the author’s work. Short, but a good snapshot if his style and what he does well.

Of Cottages and Cloud Houses by bookplayer

Slice of life about Rainbow Dash and Fluttershy moving to Ponyville. What you see in the description is what you get. With bookplayer’s trademark wonderful characterization. Both Fluttershy and Rainbow Dash are written excellently and how they make their first friends in town is nicely done. Especially Fluttershy and Rarity. I actually didn’t like how both of them had strained relationships with their parents. Though the writing is good and really there is only so much you can do with the both of them living on their own in Ponyville.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 12, 2015 in Ponies, Reading 2015, Reviews

 

3 responses to “Pony Stories 475

  1. Loganberry

    September 13, 2015 at 11:04 pm

    I read Of Cottages and Cloud Houses very recently, so it was interesting to see what you made of it. I’ll be reviewing it this week, but suffice to say here that “recommended, with a few reservations” is pretty much my view.

     
  2. Admiral Biscuit

    September 22, 2015 at 6:12 pm

    It’s not too often that people tell me I need to write _more_ 😛

     
    • Griffin

      September 22, 2015 at 11:03 pm

      Ideally you should be writing more Pony Planet, but I enjoy a lot of our stuff. Especially the slice of life stuff like the Silver Spanner ones.

       

Leave a Reply

