RSS

Pony Stories 482

21 Sep

This would be the intro bit if I had anything clever to put here. Today my brain is a blank and so I’m just going to get to the reviews.

  • Diamond In The Darkness by Sharaloth
  • Would It Matter If I Was? by GaPJaxie
  • It’s a Dangerous Business, Going Out Your Door by Jetfire2012 (a read again)

Diamond In The Darkness by Sharaloth

Glad to see I was right about who the Sorceress was. This story has a bit more about the world in it compared to the other two stories. Heck, it even has a pony name from the show in it and we actually meet one of the rulers. It is a tragic story and not exactly a fun read, but it’s another decently written entry into this series.

Would It Matter If I Was? by GaPJaxie

Once again, as typical for this author, this is less a story than a thought experiment. I ended up wanting to shake sense into one of the characters, but not sure which one. All in all it is a nice reaction fanfic to an old episode. I would still argue that some of Fluttershy’s arguments are not as good as they would be for another situation. There is a big difference between demonizing a group because of what some or a majority do and reacting to the fact that 100% of a previously unknown group do the same thing. I do agree with Fluttershy that bringing it up right then is a better idea than letting it happen if somepony else tired out to be a Changeling.

It’s a Dangerous Business, Going Out Your Door by Jetfire2012

Previous review from my first reading here.

The beginning of the story bothers me even more this time. Both not contacting Princess Celestia and the whole not even trying what seems practical. Which comes up again once Rainbow Dash has lightning. I don’t actually mind stories where doing the right thing for the right reasons is the only way to success. It can be a powerful theme and can make for really good storytelling. What almost offends me is the idea that you shouldn’t even attempt the practical solution. It would be so much better if they let Rainbow Dash attempt to lightning over to grab the flower. Maybe when she gets there all she sees is bare rock because you can only see the flowers when you walk up the hill or something. I wish there had be something besides authorial decree behind their actions, is what I’m getting at. Character actions should be motivated by reasons, not plot convience and one of the character’s getting a feeling about something is just plot convience.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 21, 2015 in Ponies, Reading 2015, Reviews

 

2 responses to “Pony Stories 482

  1. inquisitormence

    September 21, 2015 at 3:58 pm

    Hooray for not being the only person to feel that way about IaDBGOYD!

     
    • Griffin

      September 22, 2015 at 10:52 am

      Yeah. I still liked it as a story, just with two big problems that pop up every now and then. When they aren’t there I really enjoy reading it. When they do pop up I tended to ignore them until they went away. Mostly it was interested that on reading it again I had more or less the same reaction as the first time, only stronger.

       

Leave a Reply

