RSS

Pony Stories 485

24 Sep

As of this writing session I’ve got about 2500 words for my alicorn retirement home story idea. Including the bit I posted before. That’s enough to meet the minimum word requirements on fimfiction and I think I had a few good lines here and there. Now pondering if I should just keep adding to it as ideas come to me, or post what I’ve got. The main sticking point is that the writing is pretty raw. I’m still unconvinced I’ve got enough good ideas to make it worth the whole editing and revising process. Figured I’d toss up the question here. Just toss out what I’ve got so far? Do some editing on it and then push it out? I know that ideally I should put the effort into improving everything I write and want to show to other people. Just not feeling that inspired at the moment. So it’s a question of you people who wanted more, is the raw output acceptable or should I wait until I feel up to putting the effort into polishing it up before inflicting it on the public?

In other news, have some reviews.

  • The Thinkin’ Spot by bats
  • Yes, It Matters by RealityCheck
  • Do It Mattered If I Is? by KitsuneRisu

The Thinkin’ Spot by bats

Sweet slice of life. I think I need to find more friend stories involving the mane six. Been a little overfull of light shipping stories I could use another flavor of fluffy for a while. Either way, I enjoyed this.

Yes, It Matters by RealityCheck

Too much in the other direction. This one had the same point I had trouble with about Would It Matter, but also mixes in a lot of stuff I disagree with just as strongly. It does get points for the Order of the Stick reference though. Plus different Changelings being based on different kinds of bugs was a cool idea.

Do It Mattered If I Is? by KitsuneRisu

Hee. Angel bunny trying to become an ambush predator is best throwaway line. This was the best of the three, though you do have to read Would It Matter first. Of course, in the end these are all just entertain diversions because the greatest Changeling story has already been written.

(Totally forgot to actually put in the greatest Changeling story ever. Really need to do better at giving these a quick read before copy/paste moving them from the review document. Changelings, Changelings, Everywhere by Benman)

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 24, 2015 in My Writing, Ponies, Reading 2015, Reviews

 

4 responses to “Pony Stories 485

  1. Present Perfect

    September 25, 2015 at 8:59 am

    Definitely at least edit it. I mean, even that last stupid fic I put out went through three drafts (in quick succession). I’d also personally suggest finishing it before you put anything out, but that’s up to what you intend for the story.

     
  2. inquisitormence

    September 25, 2015 at 10:02 am

    Feel free to throw it my way for some feedback. Smoothing and editing is always good practice. Plus, my experience has been that a lot of new ideas come from the refining process – usually in conjunction with a cooling off period.

     
  3. Loganberry

    September 25, 2015 at 11:39 am

    Oh, edit it, certainly. Look at what my fics look like after editing/proofing and imagine what people would have to put up with if they hadn’t gone through that! πŸ˜›

    the greatest Changeling story

    As far as I’m concerned, that spot is currently held by JawJoe’s Queen of Queens. Though Obselescence’s Changeling: The Movie is up there. πŸ˜›

     
  4. Griffin

    September 25, 2015 at 9:13 pm

    No, no, you are all doing this wrong. You were supposed to enable my avoidance of editing, not recommend the logical good idea.

     

Leave a Reply

