RSS

Pony Stories 488

30 Sep

Woo! Found more pony reviews. One more day where I don’t have to think up something else to put in a post. Anyway, got around to watching Friendship Games. First off, I knew the other school was evil right when Human Twilight has her first musical number. A long musical number where not a single student comes in as even a backup vocal? Eeeeevil~. I also learned that watching a video of someone else’s video stream lagging is quite possibly one of the most frustrating things ever. Was pretty good movie, I mean, by the standards of cartoon non-pony mlp movies? At the finale I couldn’t help but think of a comment from fimfiction (I forget where I saw it exactly) about friendship and rainbow lasers being the same word. So I wanted something like this:

Sunset Shimmer: “But there is one thing you didn’t count on! Rainbow Laser!”
Pinkie Pie: “Aren’t you supposed to say friendship there?”
Sunset Shimmer: “Oh! Right! I meant you didn’t count on Friendship!”
Applejack: “How do you get those two things confused?”
Sunset Shimmer: “Back home it’s the same word! Your crazy human language is weird.”

Split Second by wille179

This had a really cool premise that it fails to do much with. I got a decent amount through this, but ended up not finishing it. Not because it was written badly precisely. The writing is rough but not horrible. Mostly I gave up because there was no tension whatsoever. I didn’t care about what happened to any of the characters because nothing really mattered. The main character is absurdly powerful and never has any real problems. I kept on with the story for a while after ceasing to care about the characters or plot because I held out hope there would be some cool worldbuilding. Which I eventually gave up on.

The story uses a decent amount of the source material from the show as a base, but completely ignores the themes and tone of the show. Other than those bits this is pretty much generic original fiction. Very generic. Except for one or two tiny things there isn’t really anything amazing or wildly creative here.

The part that annoys me the most though, is that the author apparently dislikes the parts I really enjoy. We get the story skipping over or outright ignoring what I would call the cool bits. Most of which were the slice of life bits. We get the main character teaching a fairly brutal week-long class about dark magic. Of which we get one or two scenes, then zip and over. Not even a mention of how she and her brother handle him going through the class where she tries to psychologically destroy her students. The author got bored with that plot or something and just skipped on. Which seemed to be a running theme. We’d get one or two scenes of a cool idea, then the story would wander over to something else. Not in a bad way mind you. Everything flowed and connected functionally. But no time was spent on the things I really wanted to know about.

So, I would not recommend this. Give it a read if you want, but keep in mind that the writing quality never changes much from the early bits and the ideas go nowhere. If I wasn’t tired from being up so late I could probably go on for a bit longer with all the bits that disappointed me. Yet that isn’t very constructive and I will say that even when I was disappointed I did keep reading, even staying up a bit late at least one night. So as I said, the writing itself is not horrible. Just lacked any follow-through on the premise and completely tossed out the themes and tone of pony to do it’s own thing.

Table for Two by KitsuneRisu

Pretty good. Not sure there was a story in there, but there was certainly meaning to be had. Sometimes a few moments of contemplation is a nice thing. Was worth reading, both the first time when it wasn’t finished and this time all the way through.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 30, 2015 in Ponies, Reading 2015, Reviews

 

3 responses to “Pony Stories 488

  1. Pascoite Fics

    September 30, 2015 at 5:39 pm

    I only read the first chapter or two of Split Second, but I could see it going that way. In fact, the only other thing I read by that author was the same way: a cool idea that was pretty directionless.

     
  2. Adrian “Adrenaline” Perry

    October 8, 2015 at 4:29 pm

    How does Split Second have such a high rating? Wow.

    Also, glad you like Table For Two. It’s good to just take a couple minutes to yourself without some insane stakes.
    It does in fact have a hidden interwoven plot, but you won’t know more about that until KS expands the universe a bit… did I say that out loud?

     
    • Griffin

      October 8, 2015 at 4:45 pm

      Oh, I know there is a layer of connectivity under it all.

      Split Second has a high rating because a majority of readers like that sort of thing. It’s got lots of ‘cool’ stuff in it, like overpowered magic, self-confident to the point of quiet arrogance main character, fairly standard undead and evil societies, that sort of thing. Plus a time-traveling avatar of death that helps out the main character and in one battle scene was running around shooting vampires in the head with guns.

      Basically, the larger group of people you measure the worse their taste in entertainment gets.

       

Leave a Reply

