RSS

Stainless Steel Rat book reviews

02 Oct

Turns out I have a whole bunch of non-pony reviews that I thought I had posted and apparently never did. Here are some reactions to the Stainless Steel Rat books I read weeks ago at this point.

The Stainless Steel Rat’s Revenge

Decided to read a few more of the stainless steel rat books. This one isn’t quite as good as the first. Still has the overly simple without quite being shallow problems and the situation/plot just isn’t as interesting. Looking forward to the next one though because I realized that it would make the perfect foundation for another The Iridescent Iron Rat ponyfic. I won’t spoil it, but I’ll give a hint. Changelings would be perfect.

The Stainless Steel Rat Saves The World

Time travel capers. These stories still don’t hold up as well as some, but enjoyable. Very much a story that relies on plot and convenience. Which is to be expected from a time travel story on occasion.

The Stainless Steel Rat Wants You

This is the story that would make a perfect starting point for a Iridescent Iron Rat ponyfic. Plot is a bunch of ugly aliens invaded the human worlds. Involves mind manipulation as background element. It would be somewhat simple to adjust the invaders to some collection of races being manipulated by the Changelings.

Anyway, I think I’m done reading the Stainless Steel Rat books. They were fun, but really didn’t hold up. I would recommend the ponyfic to anyone interested and if they enjoyed that point them toward the originals. They are still worth at least one read if you like that sort of old school adventure story. Just something of a surprise that the original Lensmen stories actually held up better even though they are nearly 80 years older.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 2, 2015 in Reading 2015, Reviews

 

2 responses to “Stainless Steel Rat book reviews

  1. Horizon

    October 9, 2015 at 12:09 am

    The SSR series was always something of a guilty pleasure for me. I discovered after trying to branch out to Harry Harrison’s other stuff that I don’t actually like his writing style all that much, and yet this series always felt like it came together for me. There must have been something about these that landed in my sweet spot.

    Certainly won’t rule out further Iridescent Iron Rat! It’s underneath Hard Reset 2 on my priority list, though, which means it might be quite a wait. <.<

     
    • Griffin

      October 9, 2015 at 11:35 am

      I’ve only read a bit of his other stuff. I remember enjoying the Deathworld books. Or at least the first one anyway. I suspect it would age even worse though.

      I’m all for Hard Reset 2 getting the priority. Waiting for it to finish up to read it.

       

Leave a Reply

