RSS

Pony Stories 489

08 Oct

Another fun completely trivial bit of information from the big master review list. The word crop appears twice. The New Crop an Cousin Braeburn Writes a Crop-fic. Another entry in the impossible to describe categories based on shared words in the title.

Finally got around to listening too the youtube video Oh Babble Scribbler! – [MLP Podcast] How to Review Fanfics [with PresentPerfect]. Only took me five months. Well, like three months after I actually noticed it. Which isn’t a whole lot better. Ended up listening to in on the plane flight back home yesterday. Woo, got mentioned in there near the end. Sure it was forever ago but still gives me a bit of happy. Hee. Always a good feeling when I’ve done something that makes enough of an impression that it actually gets mentioned between other people.

Today’s reviews:

  • Who We Are by kits
  • Six Shadows to Warn You by TeamCollab – Twilight Sparkle and the Strange Case of Old Res

As always, these reviews are not in any way objective. They are my feelings on the story right after I finish reading it. What I thought, my reactions, etc. I do try to be specific when I can about why I felt something or had a reaction to one part or another, but often my feelings are just vague and I can’t pin the causes down. A lot of time my interest in a story is better measured by the length of my review. Longer review means I had more to say about it, for good or bad.

Who We Are by kits

I’ve read too many Changeling stories for this to have a huge impact on me. It is fairly well written, but I couldn’t help but notice a few continuity errors and in general the whole resolution was around the point that I figured out when Twilight read the letter at the beginning. It’s hard to enjoy a story when you are impatiently waiting for the characters to catch up with what you pulled off the top of your head after all. Which is mostly because I have read a lot Changeling stories and a good majority if them have the same basic idea, that friendship doesn’t care if you are a pony or a Changeling, but the other stories have it mixed in with slice of life or adventure or other parts of the story. So coming back to this one makes it feel a bit simplistic and shallow. I would recommend!end this as a good starter Changeling story though.

Six Shadows to Warn You by TeamCollab – Twilight Sparkle and the Strange Case of Old Res (specific chapter)

I almost stopped reading this about halfway through. Mostly because it was good, but fairly typical Lovecraftian. I’m a bit over-saturated with that at the moment. Glad I kept with it. The ending was wonderful.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 8, 2015 in Ponies, Reading 2015, Reviews

 

2 responses to “Pony Stories 489

  1. Present Perfect

    October 8, 2015 at 4:12 pm

    Who We Are was a genre-defining piece in the original wave of changeling fics, for all that it was a reaction to them. I can’t imagine it’s aged well, especially in today’s “Would It Matter” world. :B

    Also yay for video. πŸ˜€

     
    • Griffin

      October 8, 2015 at 4:28 pm

      I’d still put it as a better story than Would It Matter, but yeah it’s one of those stories where it was good enough that the good parts were put into most of the stories (sometimes well and sometimes not) that came after it.

       

Leave a Reply

