RSS

Pony Stories 497

21 Oct

Because I missed this one, so it gets put in here before we actually get to the big five zero zero. So pretend this actually happened earlier. Oh, and pretend it went up at the normal 9am time.

  • From Princess Twilight Sparkle, President of the Twinkle-Nebula-Frie-Neutron Family Reunion by Georg
  • What if I told you there was a changeling in the basement of Carousel Boutique? by Hoopy McGee
  • Empress Rarity’s 250th Birthday by Lord-Commander

From Princess Twilight Sparkle, President of the Twinkle-Nebula-Frie-Neutron Family Reunion by Georg

Hee. Short and simple, but I was amused. No story, just a few silly jokes. Nighttime math formula graffiti raids.

What if I told you there was a changeling in the basement of Carousel Boutique? by Hoopy McGee

Hee. I liked this one. I haven’t read a whole bunch of this brand new sub genre, but I’ve read a couple. This one is only loosely related. Was a fun little read with a amusing ending.

Empress Rarity’s 250th Birthday by Lord-Commander

Augh! I was excited when I saw this was complete. That was a lie. This is the first half, or maybe first third, of a good story. The end was a cliffhanger where pretty much nothing in the story got resolved. The author is to be commended that it is written well enough that it got me emotionally twisted up over the scheming of the bad guy and the growing bad relations between Rarity and Twilight Sparkle. However, I wanted a resolution of some kind. All it’s got is build-up and anticipation. Which I like in moderate doses when I know some kind of resolution is in the future. It’s the main reason why I do my best to read only completed stories. Or why I don’t generally watch ongoing television shows where I have to wait for each new episode.

Anyway, the story was fairly good. I like the future version of Equestria it is set in. Twilight Sparkle’s 500th and 505th Birthdays were two stories I really enjoyed and this isn’t quite the same style, but enjoyable and well-written. The characters are interesting and as I said it was good at actually prompting emotional responses in my brain. I pretty much read it all in one sitting. I’d highly recommend this one. Just as soon as the sequel happens and the story is actually finished. Augh! I’m actually having some flashbacks to that one story that emotionally wrecked me for days. This isn’t that bad, but it’s the same sort of thing. Really, really wish this had actually been a finished story.

A proper story has a conclusion. If it’s a part of a larger arc, you have dangling plot threads. The Dresden Files books do this really well. Each book has a central that-book plot that begins and gets wrapped up. Yet it is often a part of the larger series plot. Tossing out worldbuilding and dangling ideas for the larger one, but still having a end-of-story for that book to give the reader a sense of wrapping things up. For people like me, who really hate drawn out negative emotional stuff, it’s really important to have that.

I’m actually a bit genuinely angry at the story for cutting off when it did and calling itself complete. I really should go read something nice and fluffy before I go to bed.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 21, 2015 in Ponies, Reading 2015, Reviews

 

Leave a Reply

