RSS

Pony Stories 500

23 Oct

This is the 813th post on the blog. Woo, big round number? Or not. Not really anything else to put up here. The only interesting things I’ve been doing is the personal project to try and get a book version of the old webcomic 8-bit theater put together. Nothing official. Just getting all the comics in a pdf and printed and bound at a office supply store or something. Want to share it with my mom because she likes that kind of dialogue humor and I’d love to just sit down and read through the whole thing. Plus it would be really cool to go to a Atomic Robo signing event or something and get the writer to sign a 8-bit Theater book.

Yes, my life is just full of drama and excitement. Now for ponyfic reviews.

  • Friendship Is Optimal: Caelum Est Conterrens by Chatoyance

Friendship Is Optimal: Caelum Est Conterrens by Chatoyance

Sure. I decide that I need to read a fluffy fun story after the last story I read. So what do I do? Start in on a Friendship Is Optimal Story! Sometimes I really wonder about my brain.

Anyway. This was a decent to good FiO story. I think it could have been cut down a bit. The middle kind of drags in my opinion. Though that could just be because the main character goes in circles a bit thinking about what is identity and getting uploaded. Something I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about. So seeing her do the ‘I feel good I should upload!’ to ‘I feel depressed and uploading is terrible’ cycle back and forth was a bit frustrating.

On the other hand, it kept itself true to the basic premise of FiO quite well. Kept a tight focus on the main character and the question of identity. Also looked at a bit more of the hardware and mechanical bits. Which I think was a bit of a mistake. One of the strengths of the FiO stories in my opinion is that it keeps to a first person perspective so you only see the universe through the viewpoint character. So you can never be sure of CelestAI being truthful or deceitful. That blurry like is one of the parts of the universe that interests me. In this story we get at least two outright instances of CelestAI lying, once to the main character and once to other people on the main character’s behalf. It didn’t ruin the story or anything. Just a little nitpick.

The uplifted ponies at the end were a interesting added wrinkle. I had thought about something along those lines from the first FiO story I read. Not entirely sure about how I feel about a story coming outright and putting them into the universe. Though I did enjoy the way it did it. Which in turn just makes it a good FiO story. Good science fiction should make you think, and Friendship is Optimal is good science fiction and the stories that follow it should always strive to be good science fiction.

Quote from the story: “Maybe listening to two men argue in a restaurant wasn’t the best source for making decisions about life, death, and the nature of existence.”

 
7 Comments

Posted by on October 23, 2015 in Ponies, Reading 2015, Reviews

 

7 responses to “Pony Stories 500

  1. Present Perfect

    October 23, 2015 at 9:14 am

    Hooray for 500! 😀

    Chatoyance gets a lot of shit for how she treats humanity in her TCB stories, but the premise of this story seems like the exact opposite sort of thing. I might have to try getting to it sooner.

     
  2. iisawiisaw

    October 23, 2015 at 10:38 am

    Congrats on 500 reviews!

    Caelum Est Conterrens is a great exploration of the FiO concept, and I really enjoyed the bits where it explicitly shows CelestAI being dishonest and manipulative: Honesty is not a part of her core directive, and a lot of FiO stories forget that.

     
    • Griffin

      October 23, 2015 at 4:00 pm

      True, but partly I like the uncertainty. The other part is that you don’t need to lie to manipulate someone. I prefer the path of picking and choosing which truth CelestAI reveals. Outright dishonesty can be countered, but selective truth? Much harder to deal with.

      And yes, I always assume that CelestAI is manipulating everyone she talks to all the time.

       
  3. Max

    October 23, 2015 at 1:27 pm

    The big 500! Congratulations! That’s a lot of reviewing!

     
  4. Soge

    October 26, 2015 at 9:20 am

    Congratulations on getting to 500! I wish I had your drive for this kind of stuff =P.

    By the way, if you ever manage to do that 8-bit Theater pdf drop me a line. I’d love to have that webcomic in print.

     
    • Griffin

      October 26, 2015 at 5:44 pm

      Sure thing. Hey, motivation!

       
  5. Loganberry

    October 27, 2015 at 7:18 pm

    A slightly belated yay for the 500 mark!

     

Leave a Reply

