RSS

Pony Stories 505

29 Oct

Bleh. I really should have typed up the clever idea I had earlier. It’s gone now. So I waited until I was severely depressed to write up this post. Bleeergh.

Next morning edit: In an effort to have something other than a depressed ramble, I will now use hard data to prove which number is best. Using, of course, the big master review list. I saw a review for Five Hundred Murders and realized that I had seen a lot of titles with Five in the name. So thought that would be the highest one. Nope. Also, nobody likes the number eight apparently.

  • One: 215
  • Two: 54
  • Three: 28
  • Four: 9
  • Five: 16
  • Six: 11
  • Seven: 13
  • Eight: 3 (plus one Neighty-Four)
  • Nine: 11

And now for the pony reviews.

  • The Unbearable Lightness of Bucking by Loganberry
  • Potato Run
  • The Waters of Myinnkyun’s Harbor

The Unbearable Lightness of Bucking by Loganberry

Hee. Decent story with a fun punchline. Pie metaphors about the nature of existence for the win.

Scraps, Musings & Octavia Writes Fanfics by Wanderer D – Potato Run

“Just… hold the potato, Twilight.”

Lost Cities by Cold in Gardez – The Waters of Myinnkyun’s Harbor

I suspect that if I had read the story this refers to, it would have gotten more of a reaction. It still got some mind you. It’s nearly impossible for a Cold in Gardez story to be bland after all. Yet it didn’t have the same sense of history and wonder. (? I had a different word to put in here, but forgot it by the time I got there. Wonder will do.) Anyway, got me thinking of my Lost Cities idea that I really should write out sometime. Or at least get more than the first couple of lines and the idea worked out.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 29, 2015 in Ponies, Reading 2015, Reviews

 

3 responses to “Pony Stories 505

  1. Soge

    October 29, 2015 at 9:27 am

    Yeah, I got the same reaction to Myinnkyun’s Harbor. I think that the issue is that, unlike the rest of the series, this place is relatively recent. Much of the sense of wonderment from Lost Cities comes from just how ancient these locations are portrayed as being.

     
  2. Loganberry

    October 30, 2015 at 6:39 am

    Thanks for reading TULoB! I’m glad you enjoyed it. I’ve been surprised by how well it’s done, actually, given it’s a pretty silly little thing. Maybe that’s what a lot of readers want, though.

    And I really must catch up with that new chapter of Lost Cities.

     
    • Loganberry

      October 30, 2015 at 6:54 am

      Oops, turns out I’ve already read that chapter; I just didn’t remember the title.

       

Leave a Reply

