RSS

First post of 2016

01 Jan

Looking back and looking forward. The first day (or last day) of the year isn’t fundamentally different from any other day. Yet humans can’t be aware and 100% at everything all the time. So it’s good to select certain times (and places) to focus on things. In this case the changing of the year is a good time to stop and just consider the previous year and think about the coming year.

Oh, and if you missed it you should check out my official Last Post Of 2015. Nothing special but I do quote my favorite part of the discworld book Hogfather.

2015 was a decent year for me. Most of it was semi-productive. Almost got back into writing as a ‘lot of time’ sort of thing. Did a pretty good job posting here on the blog and the big master review list got a lot of attention. Things kind of fell apart for me in the last 2-3 months. Pretty much gave up on everything I was trying to keep a schedule on. Writing, my meds, sleep schedule. Basically me having a good day is balancing so many little things against each other that if one gets knocked out the whole thing collapses. Which makes it a bit hard to reassemble it because everything seems to depend on everything else. However I’m getting my meds and sleeping back on track and I’m hoping that using the new year as leverage to get the writing and other online productivity back into my semi-good state. I know I can do a blog post here a day, I’ve done it for a year and a half before.

Going into 2016 I’m getting back up on the horse with writing and keeping the big master review list updated. Even going to attempt to get all the backed up reviews from other people cleared away and on the master list before the new year hits where I am. Might be a quixotic goal, but I’m going to try it. Worst that happens is I take a big chunk out of the backlog. Either way going to try my best to keep up with people’s reviews. I want to get back to where people were surprised at how quickly I put the links up, like right after the review posts go up.

So, starting on the 1st I’m going to get back on my hour of writing every day. This time focusing on stories I want to write rather than just bits and pieces for practice. My mistake this time was I started to drift into editing and lost focus. So hour of writing and perhaps add a half-hour of editing after that if I feel up to it any particular day. At the moment I just need to get more first drafts of stories out. Polishing things up can wait until later.

Getting back to a regular sleep schedule as well. Which sucks, since me and sleep have never gotten along, but not having one makes me feel terrible. So back to a regular sleep schedule where I’ll merely feel kinda ick. Which will both help and be helped by me taking my anti-depressants as they are meant to be taken. It’s just kind of weird that staying up late is a symptom of depression. Not in a clear one step cause and effect sort of way. I just have a hard time relaxing and letting go of the day when I don’t take the meds. That and taking melatonin.

Already doing better with reading with the books I got for Christmas. I want to continue not just reading more again, but reading more non-ponyfic. Also reading more pony fan fiction since I’ve fallen from that in the general do-nothing malaise. So, more reading overall and not having the entireity of my reading being pony. Pony fan fiction is good and lots of good stories, but I think it’s time to dip a toe back into the rest of literature once more.

Now to put up my ridiculously expensive (twelve pieces of commissioned art) pony humanized pin-up calendar and be ready to greet the new year. Here’s hoping it’s better than this year. Which should be the goal every year no matter how good the previous year was. Even if it’s just little by little, aim for things to get better.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 1, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “First post of 2016

  1. Present Perfect

    January 1, 2016 at 6:54 pm

    What calendar might this be <.<

    Glad to hear things are going better. 🙂

     
    • Griffin

      January 1, 2016 at 7:37 pm

      The one on my wall. It’s right over there. To the left of where I sit at my computer.

       
    • Griffin

      January 1, 2016 at 9:02 pm

      To actually answer your curiosity, I commissioned twelve pieces of humanized pony art and used an online custom print-on-demand calendar service. Even let me remove holidays, or enter custom events. So got pony holiday names for things right there all official-looking.

       
      • Adrian “Adrenaline” Perry

        January 2, 2016 at 7:49 am

        Ooo, is it humanised versions of all your favourite reviewer ponies? 😉

         
      • Griffin

        January 2, 2016 at 10:48 am

        *snerk* That would be more than a little creepy. So, nope.

         

Leave a Reply

