RSS

Pony Stories 533

04 Jan

First pony fan fiction read and reviewed for the new year! The one that got posted yesterday was both read and the review typed up last year. Man, I’ve got to get better about not leaving such huge gaps in my reading. A whole year between pony fan fiction stories.

Hee. That joke is never going to get old to me. Yesterday (as of writing this) was Dec 31 and I told someone online that I wouldn’t be able to respond to their message until next year. Double hee.

Hearth Warming’s Trappings by Georg

A pretty good holiday story. Though I liked his other one better. In my opinion it captured the magic of Christmas feel better. As for the whole science/belief theme, the story about young Twilight failing to catch the tooth flutterpony did it better.

Which is something of the problem. If all I can say about the story is comparing it to other stories that were slightly better in some respect, that doesn’t mean much. This story is functional and even good on it’s own. No major flaws and is fairly sweet in the places it is supposed to be sweet. Guess I’m just viewing it through the eyes of someone who has read a ridiculous amount of pony fan fiction. Probably 40 million words of it, according to the bookshelf wordcount feature on FimFiction and some rounding and guessing based on me reading some things twice and not finishing others.

That is going to be something I try to fight back against this year. Trying to judge a story not on what I’ve read in the past, but on it’s own merits. Which is mostly just me fighting against finding stories bland. Need to try to come at stories as if they are the first in whatever genre/style I have read.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 4, 2016 in Ponies, Reading 2016, Reviews

 

3 responses to “Pony Stories 533

  1. Chris

    January 4, 2016 at 6:07 pm

    Jeez, has it really been an entire year since I last commented on one of your posts? I’ve gotta get it together…

     
    • Griffin

      January 5, 2016 at 1:32 am

      Could be worse. There are websites I haven’t visited since last century!

       
      • Adrian “Adrenaline” Perry

        January 5, 2016 at 7:22 am

        I didn’t even know the internet was a thing last century. No kidding. That’s what growing up in remote Australia in the 90’s will do to you.

         

Leave a Reply

