RSS

Pony Stories 537

09 Jan

Just got around to reading this: Formal Reviewing 101 & 102 by SirTruffles. Basic stuff, but a good foundation to start from. So anyone wants to start reviewing stuff, even non ponyfic, those two posts are a great place to start.

I’m both surprised and not surprised none of you guessed that the story I was talking about yesterday was….

was…

Wait for it….

The cliche ridden mess of…

Whom the Princesses Would Destroy… by GhostOfHeraclitus


 

Ahem, moving on to today’s actual pony fan fiction review.

Queen of Queens by JawJoe

That was quite a good story. One of the stories I just put down and thought about for a moment. Not because it was deep (thought it was) but just because I wanted to hold the story in my mind a little longer before letting it slip from the present into the past. A very well developed and wonderfully executed version of the Changelings. Made even more impressive by the fact that there wasn’t any intense emotions in the story at all. Or at least not in the story told to the reader. Even the moments of heartbreak and hatred were… Not muted exactly, but observed rather than felt. It was a very ephemeral story in a way. Not in it’s impact, but in how it moved from scene to scene, moment to moment. Never stopping to focus on any one thing for too long.

I’ve had this story on my read later list for quite a while. I have read praises of it from several sources and they were not exaggerating. I should have read this sooner, but in a way I’m glad it happened now. When I’m struggling with a lot of fan fiction being either shallow or bland for me. However the reason I read it now instead of later (the eternal ‘read it later’ time) is because with my review of this story I finally plug a hole in the big master review list. Now there is a story with 11 reviews, eliminating the 0 stories with that many reviews hole that was between the stories with 10 reviews and stories with 12 reviews. As long as nobody new reviews In the Place the Wild Horses Sleep (ha!), Queen of Queens, or Beneath your feet, what Treasures, my spreadsheet OCD is appeased.

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 9, 2016 in Ponies, Reading 2016, Reviews

 

3 responses to “Pony Stories 537

  1. Present Perfect

    January 9, 2016 at 6:37 pm

    What, you don’t like Whom the Princesses anymore? D: Well, appreciating Queen of Queens absolves you. SOMEWHAT.

     
    • Griffin

      January 9, 2016 at 11:11 pm

      Of course I like it. I was using comedic emphasis to show that it could be seen to have many cliche elements. High quality execution makes all the difference.

       
  2. Soge

    January 11, 2016 at 11:15 am

    Hey, I haven’t reviewed Queen of Queens. Maybe I should do it when I have the time…

     

Leave a Reply

