RSS

Pony Stories 545

20 Jan

This is the intro bit. Normally I think up something to put here. Today I did not.

  • Celestia Hates Us All by Horse Voice

Celestia Hates Us All by Horse Voice

A good story. Classic speculative fiction form of story.. A concept wrapped in a story told by one of the characters of events leading up to the present of the character telling the story, with a somewhat ominous end that implies that things have not actually ended. It didn’t really grab me though. Didn’t feel like a Versebreakers story. Using my basic rule of thumb, swap out the element for something else and see how much of the story needs to be rewritten, it does seem like the music could easily be replaced by magic or mad science or what have you. Whereas the Versebreakers stories from the collection were much more embedded in the music itself. Or so my admittedly faulty memory tells me.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 20, 2016 in Ponies, Reading 2016, Reviews

 

2 responses to “Pony Stories 545

  1. Soge

    January 22, 2016 at 7:43 pm

    I think that the music in the fic worked very well as a general theme. Also, it ties in with the idea of how “contagious” music can be – and how disastrous it can be when the Versebreakers make a mistake.

     
    • Griffin

      January 23, 2016 at 12:27 am

      I get that, just… didn’t push the same buttons in my head I guess. Personal perspective thing.

       

Leave a Reply

