RSS

Pony Stories 563

23 Feb

Huh. Over 6,000 stories and 2,500 authors and the word ‘puzzle’ only shows up once. I was not expecting that. Anyway, by the time this goes up I should be completely caught up with the big master review list updates. Just chugging through the royal guard backlog now since I just recently found out they’ve been putting them up in their group forum instead of posting them as blog posts. After that it’s one post from PresentPerfect and I tackle my own reviews! Then probably whatever reviews have popped up in the 11 notifications in my FimFiction feed. Fun trivia: Every single story in the last three Royal Guard posts was already reviewed and on the list.

  • Fractured Sunlight by Oroboro

Fractured Sunlight by Oroboro

That was a good story. Stayed up three hours past when I should have been sleeping to finish it, so basically didn’t want to put it down and finish it in the morning. Some nuance to my reaction, mostly in that looking back on it the story seemed a little too tightly focused. Some side plots or scenes not directly related to the two main characters might have been nice. Yet who am I too backseat write? The story kept me up three hours later than normal so the author was certainly doing something right.

It even falls in my favorite sub-genre of story. The drama free  romance. Not crazy drama or stupid misunderstandings. Just the two characters involved in a relationship together as they figure things out. There is a bit of drama at the end, but as the emotional climax of the entire story it gets a pass. I really should watch His and Her Circumstances again. It’s also why I like bookplayer’s  stories. She writes the same kind of emotional drama relationship stuff.

I also would have liked to see some of the worldbuilding from the Friendship Games movie put in here, but on the gripping hand I think the story is stronger as a creation standing apart of the movie. Having been started and planned (I assume) before the movie came out. The diary entries at the start of each chapter worked quite well. We already know how it ends thanks to that gut wrenching prologue (which hit me harder than I anticipated even knowing in general how it would turn out). So the cheerful building diary entries kept the emotional tension going and were a nice contrast to the story itself. The pictures weren’t as nicely integrated but I enjoyed them and did appreciate a bit of visual flair to each chapter. The style of the art helped set a tone for the story.

I liked this story and would recommend it.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 23, 2016 in Ponies, Reading 2016, Reviews

 

3 responses to “Pony Stories 563

  1. Present Perfect

    February 23, 2016 at 7:21 pm

    I miiiiight be putting out another one tomorrow. <.< I know what that puzzle fic is though! ;D

     
    • Griffin

      February 23, 2016 at 8:04 pm

      Of course you do. It’s a Perfect story.

       
  2. Oroboro

    March 7, 2016 at 11:58 pm

    Thanks for the review. I’m glad you enjoyed it!

     

Leave a Reply

