RSS

Pony Stories 568

01 Mar

I avoid incomplete stories for a reason. I don’t like cliffhangers or not being able to get to the end of a story. Yet every now and then I go ‘well, I really want to know what happens and I am sure the most recent chapter will not be a terrible cliffhanger’ and I read a incomplete story. Which pretty much always leads to regret and agony. I recently re-read Days of Wasp and Spider again, and then I really wanted to see what happens next so I jumped into the fairly long sequel which isn’t done. Which ended not on a cliffhanger exactly. Certainly a dramatic moment before things kick into high gear again. Augh!

Now, guess what? More stories involving Sunset Shimmer!

  • Death is Optional by Dubs Rewatcher
  • Going Home by GrassAndClouds2
  • This Mirror Left Blank by Norm De Plume

Death is Optional by Dubs Rewatcher

So, turns out I am a horrible person. Because I kinda chuckled at the end of this story. Weird concept for a story. Suitable for those with a dark sense of humor.

Going Home by GrassAndClouds2

Jeeze. That was dark. A lot darker than I was expected honestly. I would love to read a sequel about Princess Celestia’s reaction. Which would either be a good bit of catharsis or just be more nightmare fuel, as they say on the internet. Now to go read something fluffy and light.

This Mirror Left Blank by Norm De Plume

That was an interesting take on things. I do really like the idea of a comfort prison for Alicorn. Might nab it for my own ponyverse. Plus I do enjoy any story that gives Princess Celestia some nuance. Even if it is just a hint that she might have an entire vault of insane Alicorns she hasn’t told anyone else about. As well as a nice subtle but reasonable version of chessmaster Celestia.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 1, 2016 in Ponies, Reading 2016, Reviews

 

4 responses to “Pony Stories 568

  1. Pascoite Fics

    March 1, 2016 at 5:54 pm

    I thought “This Mirror Left Blank” was a great idea, and well-written, too. Now if only it weren’t chock full of the narrator telling the reader exactly how every character feels instead of leaving him to reason it out on his own.

     
    • Norm De Plume

      April 8, 2016 at 2:54 am

      Want to break down where I told the reader how a character was feeling? I used almost no thought verbs in those 3,300 words.

       
  2. Present Perfect

    March 1, 2016 at 6:43 pm

    Apparently, I didn’t find that second story believable, but I really liked the third! :B

     
  3. Loganberry

    March 3, 2016 at 6:31 pm

    Just read Going Home, and it’s that rare thing: an Equestria Girls story I really liked.

     

Leave a Reply

