RSS

Pony Stories 573

06 Mar

Thanks to hearing about a cool download program over in the comments of a post over on One Man’s Pony Ramblings I’ve been messing around with Calibre and downloading ponyfics once again. I had gotten out of the habit because the FimFiction automatic ebook download is kinda broken, so I’ve been reading most of the stories on the website. Now I’ve been trying out using Calibre and its “FanFicFare” plugin to download fanfics instead. Early signs look good! Even having fun making covers for the books. The person who suggested it over on Chris’ blog claims it will even grab author’s notes, which I’ve been enjoying reading on the site since the FimFiction ebooks don’t include them so I didn’t even know I was missing them in the stories I was reading. Going through my favorites bookshelf for stories to download (I want to make an archive of the fanfics I really like) was an interesting trip. Many older stories had new covers since I last looked at them, and got reminded of a few good stories I haven’t thought of in over a year.

  • Pony Planet: Side Stories by Admiral Biscuit
  • Fluttershy Doesn’t Have A Kitchen! by theRedBrony
  • Fluttershy and Celestia Play Chess by BronyWriter

Pony Planet: Side Stories by Admiral Biscuit

Fun stuff. Just bits and pieces that didn’t fit into the main story. If you like Onto The Pony Planet you should give this a read. If you haven’t, go read it then come read this one. It’s a good dose of the good story stuff that I was suffering withdrawal from while waiting for Onto The Pony Planet to finish up.

Fluttershy Doesn’t Have A Kitchen! by theRedBrony

Has some amusing moments. Not really amazing, but short enough that reading it wasn’t a waste of time.

Fluttershy and Celestia Play Chess by BronyWriter

Hee. I wasn’t sure about this one at the beginning, but by the end I was enjoying it. Fluttershy’s dialogue was a bit too much cliche Fluttershy, but otherwise she was portrayed fairly well.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 6, 2016 in Ponies, Reading 2016, Reviews

 

6 responses to “Pony Stories 573

  1. Present Perfect

    March 6, 2016 at 9:25 am

    I’ve actually got Calibre (on my dead computer ;_;), but I don’t think I’ve ever really done anything with it.

     
    • Griffin

      March 6, 2016 at 12:21 pm

      It can be really useful. Though if you don’t download a lot of ebooks to read on a reader or tablet it’s not going to be as useful.

       
  2. Chris

    March 6, 2016 at 9:22 pm

    I haven’t tried playing around with “Fanficfare” program yet, though it sounds pretty awesome. The one thing I didn’t mention on my blog about fimfetch.net that I love, though, is that its .mobi downloads also include the story’s description as a “chapter zero” when viewed on a kindle! I don’t know how many times I’ve gone to read a book I put on the kindle a few months after I downloaded it, only to realize I have no idea what it’s about or even what the genre is.

     
    • Griffin

      March 6, 2016 at 9:42 pm

      FanFicFare has been doing that for me! It’s really nice. I know I made sure to do that with the short stories I put up on Amazon for exactly that reason.

       
  3. Soge

    March 7, 2016 at 12:12 am

    My only issue with fimficfare is that it doesn’t seem to download images other than the fic cover. Not that you can see them all that well on a black-and-white Kindle, but it would be nice to know that there is something there.

     
    • Griffin

      March 7, 2016 at 5:40 pm

      Really? Seems to work fine for me with images.

       

Leave a Reply

