RSS

Pony Stories 574

07 Mar

The trip through the past of my ponyfic reading continues. Having to glance at each one to format the new covers with the fancy cover maker has me remembering each one. Which leads me to a spoiler: Paul Asaran, I still haven’t forgiven you for Frequency.

But enough about trivial vendettas against good authors. Time for reviews. Once again I’ve been reading faster than I’ve been putting these out. So at this point I’m nearly a week behind on the read/post cycle.

  • Cadance’s Lovely Misadventure by Chengar Qordath
  • Her hardest duty. by Alchemystudent
  • In Which Twilight Sparkle Attempts to Eat a Sandwich by Maphysto

Cadance’s Lovely Misadventure by Chengar Qordath

Pretty good story. Princess Cadance fumbling through her first Hearts and Hooves day as Princess of Love. Fairly typical stuff. Her meal with Celestia was nicely done. Really should have been lunch instead of early dinner, though. The story also feels like it needed one or two more chapters. It just kind of ends with a token resolution.

Her hardest duty. by Alchemystudent

Ow. I didn’t even get to the halfway point. Writing was just too rough. Not even sure how to describe it. Probably a very heavy case of telling instead of showing. None of the sentences flowed together, repetition up the butt, and just general poor word choices.

In Which Twilight Sparkle Attempts to Eat a Sandwich by Maphysto

Fun bit of storytelling. Specifically each of the mane six besides Twilight telling a local legend about why the sandwiches if a local cafe are cursed. Even if the final result doesn’t make a whole lot of sense. I mean the final result involving the sandwich. The end if the story was pretty cool.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on March 7, 2016 in Ponies, Reading 2016, Reviews

 

7 responses to “Pony Stories 574

  1. Present Perfect

    March 7, 2016 at 8:15 pm

    Now I definitely need to read Frequency. <.<

     
    • Griffin

      March 7, 2016 at 10:24 pm

      It is a really good story!

       
  2. Loganberry

    March 9, 2016 at 11:07 am

    I like the sound of Frequency, but unfortunately I’ve been spoiled on the ending. Would you say the journey was worth it even knowing how it will end?

     
    • Griffin

      March 9, 2016 at 11:29 am

      Sure. In fact knowing the ending might be better. Maybe. Anyway, it’s a really good story. You just won’t get the big emotional kick at the end.

       
      • Loganberry

        March 9, 2016 at 11:45 am

        Okay, it’s on the list! (Which is now up to 487 fics…)

         
      • Griffin

        March 9, 2016 at 6:28 pm

        Hey! That’s more than my current read later list!

        …Mostly because I’ve been adding things to my secondary read later list instead. Which is at 1700 at last check?

         
  3. G. K (@Samusforce)

    March 9, 2016 at 8:10 pm

    Author of Her Hardest Duty here. I think I can see what you are getting at with this. I think I could’ve realyl down wiht an editor at the time.

     

Leave a Reply

