RSS

Pony Stories 575

09 Mar

Here, have some reviews. Hopefully I’ll have something interesting to put in the intro bit before this goes up in two days. No promises.

  • Swooping Pegasus by FenrisianBrony
  • The God Empress of Ponykind by iowaforever
  • Late Nights at the Hooves Household by obabscribbler
  • Ponies and Throwing Knives by HoofBitingActionOverload

Swooping Pegasus by FenrisianBrony

Warhammer 40k crossover. I stopped after six chapters or so. Writing was just kind of flat and wasn’t grabbing me. Lot of exposition just stated instead of worked into the narrative smoothly. Plus the eldar aren’t really all that interesting to me. I might give this another try in the future, but for now I have decided to move on.

The God Empress of Ponykind by iowaforever

Another Warhammer 40K crossover. I enjoyed this one a lot more. Amused that Empress Celestia walking around by herself on a lifeless planet is more engaging than the previous story with Rainbow Dash meeting aliens and fighting monsters beyond her comprehension.

The downside of the story is that this really didn’t have much pony in it. I would give it a 90/10 ratio, with Warhammer 40k as the 90 and My Little Pony as the 10. I do enjoy the scifi techno fantasy of 40k, but anyone hoping for pony themes or flavor is going to be disappointed.

As usual I have nitpicks that I’ll pass on commenting. Most of them are just backseat authoring after all. Okay, maybe mention one. Having the Changelings be just a byproduct of Discord wasted a lot of potential. Oh, and having a rivalry between the Sparkle ancestor and Firefly that popped up when Empress Celestia formed the legions, then not having it come back in the big battle Sparkle idies in? That’s just a even worse bit of wasted potential. Would have been a perfect bit to slip in some thematic friendship goodness.

All in all a decent chunk of 40k goodness with some sprinkles of pony for spice. Be braced for Gore, especially during the Nightmare Moon bits at the end. This story is rewriting the backstory of Friendship Is Magic so it matched Warhammer 40k sensibilities.

Late Nights at the Hooves Household by obabscribbler

Typical sad poor Ditzy Hooves story. Which didn’t really grab me. It has been a long while since I’ve read one but apparently still saturated enough that the clichés just kind of roll off me.

Ponies and Throwing Knives by HoofBitingActionOverload

Decent story. Though I felt that this Rainbow Dash was too much on the dumb and impulsive side of things.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 9, 2016 in Ponies, Reading 2016, Reviews

 

One response to “Pony Stories 575

  1. Present Perfect

    March 9, 2016 at 6:31 pm

    Thanks for the heads-up on that first one. I saw the sequel (or maybe threequel?) in featured, thought it sounded neat, and headed back to see what was going on. I’ll stick with Archives of the Friendquisition which is still dead D:

     

Leave a Reply

