RSS

New Reviewers 26: A Good Day to Review Hard (aka the great video review mistake part 1)

17 Mar

I guess I’m committed now. Video reviews on the Big Master Review List are officially a go! No, wait, that means I should probably *be* committed. Anyway, here are what I have added so far. I don’t think I’ll be putting all of them onto this post but I certainly plan to be updating it for a while before I actually put it up. So no clue how long will pass between me writing this intro bit and the post actually going up. The video reviews are going to be a bit of a gamble. For the text stuff I can at least skim to get some idea of the content. I do filter what I put on the list a little, mostly I avoid putting really mean or angry reviews. At the very least with the text ones I could tell if it was a review or just a mention of the story in the middle of something else. Time will tell if this was a good idea. If it turns out to be too much trouble, I’ll just quietly drop it like I did for comment-based reviews on FimFiction.

For the moment video reviews are not linked on the main sheet of the big master review list. They can be found here. I will be putting some indication of them on the big master review list in a while. I think what I will do is have a single column that is just ‘video reviews’ and if a story has one or more I will put a link to the video review sheet. Basically the same setup as I’m using for short story collections.

Here are the video review peoples in this post:

  • EmeraldComet
  • Changeling Number 32
  • AlphaPinkie Reviews
  • The Brony Bookclub

EmeraldComet

Is a youtube reviewer who thankfully seems to do fairly on point reviews. One video, one story. No clue as to quality since I can’t even skim the videos like I do text. I’m just glad the episode notes aren’t refernecing a dozen fanfics that I have to decide to link or not. You’ll see what I mean in the other video reviewers(-ish?) after this one.


Changeling Number 32 is another youtube guy. He does a lot of stuff, with fanfiction reviews


Another smallish youtube channel! AlphaPinkie Reviews, who has since moved to another channel and doesn’t seem to have any pony content over there. He does the face right to the camera thing instead of having a pony avatar and/or splash screen. He seems more focused on video game stuff, so you might want to check out his other channel if you are interested in that stuff. Hopefully he has gotten a bit more of a professional setup.


 

The Brony Bookclub seems to be less pure reviews and seems to be more general round table discussion. I’m going off the links posted on each video’s notes, so no clue if the stories are just name dropped or have intense 15-minute conversations about them. Also weird, this isn’t a video but a podcast they put up on youtube. Or at least I think that’s weird. Guess it’s not a bad way to do it if they want to take advantage of Youtube’s marketing reach and recommendation engine. I’m only going to reference the pony fanfiction they link to, because I have to draw the line somewhere.

The Brony Bookclub Episode 1-Dark (30 minutes)

  • Sweetie’s Mansion by Moon Shooter
  • Silent Ponyville by JakeHertitagu
  • My Little Chrono: Triggers are Magic by Pav Feira
  • A World Without Rainbows by UberPhoenix
  • The Cough by Ebon Mane

The Brony Bookclub Episode 2-Crossovers Pt. 1

  • The Dresden Fillies: Strange Friends by psychicscubadiver
  • The Dresden Fillies: False Masks by psychicscubadiver
  • Order and Chaos by psychicscubadiver
  • Rorschach in Equestria by Ex Nihilos
  • A World Without Rainbows by UberPhoenix
  • Sweetie’s Mansion by Moonshooter
  • Whip and Wing by Fernin
  • Nine Knackered Souls by DrIvoRobotnik

The Brony Bookclub Episode 3-Crossovers, Pt. 2

  • My Little Chrono: Triggers are Magic by Pav Feira
  • Pony Fantasy IV by Leo Archon
  • Filly Fantasty VI by The Wyld Stallyns
  • No Foals by Flashgen
  • Anthropology by JasonTheHuman
  • A Study in Rainbows by Thanqol
  • Fallout Equestria by Khat
  • It’s a Dangerous Business Going Out Your Front Door by Jetfire
  • Best Night Ever by Capn Chryssalid

Yeah, not going to be listing every story each episode covers. Too much work. They are all linked on the list if you want to track them down. I also haven’t added every current post on the list either because each episode has a dozen or more stories and I hit my saturation point. So I’ll be trying to add them as time goes on, but should have the stories for every episode listed added. Which is good enough for the introduction post.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 17, 2016 in Ponies, Reviewers

 

2 responses to “New Reviewers 26: A Good Day to Review Hard (aka the great video review mistake part 1)

  1. Present Perfect

    March 17, 2016 at 7:05 pm

    “Transformers: Equestria Girls”

    I… I can’t pass this up.

    Also wow, lots of love for My Little Chrono. :O That is, if I’m not mistaken, one of the very first stories I helped edit. I think. o.O I could be very wrong.

     
    • Griffin

      March 18, 2016 at 11:04 pm

      Yeah, The Brony Bookclub had a couple of favorite stories that they kept referencing over and over. Or so the links in their video descriptions seemed to indicate.

       

Leave a Reply

