RSS

Pony Stories 587

06 Apr

Jeeze. Getting close to 600 numbered review posts. Numbers. They just keep going up don’t they? In completely different news I’m re-reading the second Dusk Guard book and enjoying it. Except for the first couple of chapters. This is the fourth or fifth time I’ve read the beginning and I think next time I’ll probably just skip to chapter six or something.

In the news for the Big Master Revlew list: Paul Asaran has finally overcome Seattle’s Angels, and the Everfree Spotlight has pulled ahead of both Iniquistor M and Foals Errand.

  • Fly Hard by Aragon
  • Fluttershy comes out of the closet by Obscure
  • Freeport Venture: Something Sweet and Sour by Ponibius

Fly Hard by Aragon

This was bloody wonderful. I haven’t laughed this hard at a story in a while. Mostly the puns. Though I enjoyed just about every single bit. This is probably one of the author’s best stories so far. With some nice worldbuilding and character study sprinkled into the action and comedy. Highly recommended.

Fluttershy comes out of the closet by Obscure

Sweet and silly. I quite liked it enough that I wish there was a proper length story with this pair by this author.

Freeport Venture: Something Sweet and Sour by Ponibius

I like how the independent Changelings refer to themselves in this version of the world of Ponies, but it is a bit more than I can handle as the perspective for and entire story. The setting of Freeport and the story of his Sunset Shimmer continues to be interesting, even if this particular story was light on worldbuilding or Sunset Shimmer character development. Had some fun action scenes, I suppose.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 6, 2016 in Ponies, Reading 2016, Reviews

 

3 responses to “Pony Stories 587

  1. Loganberry

    April 9, 2016 at 4:01 pm

    I was hoping that would be what the Fluttershy story was. I may have to read it.

    Also, I’m not yet used to the change to default ordering-by-title in the BMRL, and I keep scrolling to entirely the wrong part of the sheet. šŸ˜›

     
    • Griffin

      April 9, 2016 at 5:24 pm

      Whoops! Forgot to sort it by author. See, I have to semi-manually do the sorting. Which is I sort by title then sort by author. Guess I forgot step two last time.

       
      • Loganberry

        April 11, 2016 at 4:40 pm

        Aha, I see. I wouldn’t actually mind either way; I’m just more used to the author sort.

         

Leave a Reply

