RSS

Pony Stories 592

18 Apr

Alright. Too many reviews, not enough posts. So got to step up my game and get back into the daily post thing. Which means a little less Fallout 4. I’ve blown through the robot DLC and it had some cool bits. I have not really messed around with the robot building stuff. Once again I’m back to ignoring the main plot (most of the questlines actually) and just messing around with settlements. I want to get as many settlements as possible before I start any Minuteman stuff. Pretty sure I can get all of them except maybe one or two that are quest dependent.

  • Celestia Sleeps In with a Vengeance by Admiral Biscuit
  • The Thousand Year Urge by CoastalSarv
  • The Iron Horse: Everything’s Better With Robots! by The Hat Man
  • Higher Flier by AdmiralTigerclaw
  • A Million Little Lights by Aragon

Celestia Sleeps In with a Vengeance by Admiral Biscuit

Hee. I found this quite amusing. Not laugh out loud funny, but had plenty of chuckle worthy moments and I was smiling for pretty much the entire time I was reading.

The Thousand Year Urge by CoastalSarv

Light fluffy comedic fun. That’s about it.

The Iron Horse: Everything’s Better With Robots! by The Hat Man

Cool slice of life scifi. The author dies a good (maybe even great) job at writing a basic mechanical pony with AI learning to interact with ponies. Even does a good job weaving in the villain in the story without focusing too much or too little on them. I wish the story was finished so I could read the rest of it, but each arc is self contained enough that stopping at the end of one doesn’t feel like dangling off a cliff. Most of the arcs could be individual stories in a series instead of one long one. Which is to say the main background plot of the who and why the robot was built and sent to Twilight Sparkle is one that moves at a glacial pace. The primary story is the slice of life stuff of the robot interacting with the world to learn and grow as a person.

Higher Flier by AdmiralTigerclaw

Old story. Four years only, since it seems to have been published late 2011 or early 2012. Which makes me feel old. I remember when 2012 was in the moderate distance future. Anyway, ponyfic! This was an interesting story, but I’m not sure I’d call it a good one. The author seems to like his math a little much. Not that it shows up in the story mind you. But the OC is a pony version of the SR-71 Blackbird and he tried to make it as accurate as possible and that doesn’t quite work. Not to mention there is an entire appendix explaining it all, as well as explaining why Rainbow Dash isn’t as fast as some people think. A creative OC, but still runs into the two main problem of too awesome on one hand and crippling flaws on the other. Plus there is a crash into Fluttershy’s house that causes a fire because it broke the gas line in the kitchen. Setting aside the fact the Fluttershy doesn’t have a kitchen, why would she have a gas stove?

A Million Little Lights by Aragon

A good story. Much different than the author’s usual, even the serious usual. Which makes sense given the author was trying to write in another author’s style. Celestia as perfect divinity, or at least a quite interesting take on the subject. Once again I’m reminded that when I mention Celestia being a god in my blog or in the rpg worldbook I fiddle with, it is a different context than most mean it. My default definition for god is in the D&D vein of just a very powerful being. However, the perfect divinity angle continues to be a fertile ground for stories. Especially when pony gives us the figure of Celestia, the idealized symbolic parent figure of a kid’s cartoon. Anyway, this story is worth a read. I enjoyed it.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 18, 2016 in Ponies, Reading 2016, Reviews

 

2 responses to “Pony Stories 592

  1. The Hat Man

    April 22, 2016 at 8:33 pm

    Thanks for the kind review of my story! It’s been a lot of work, but the response has been very positive, so I’m happy to have continued it for so long. As for the story being finished, it’s nearing the climax. There are one or two arcs to complete before the main overarching story comes back. I hope you’ll enjoy what’s to come.

    P.S. You know, you’re the first to suggest that the arcs could have been individual stories themselves. While I don’t regret having them all as part of one single story, I have to admit that now you’ve got me wondering how things would have been different if I had approached it that way.

     
    • Griffin

      April 23, 2016 at 5:32 am

      Huh. Seemed fairly obvious to me. With the big plot more or less just little hints and stuff, with the main focus being the smaller arcs, the whole thing feels a lot like a tv series more than a novel.

       

Leave a Reply

