RSS

Pony Stories 593

19 Apr

Sleep, my age-old nemesis. Just now doing the stay up all night to readjust my sleep schedule. More or less. One of these times that strategy has to work, right? I spent most of the night re-reading Fractured Sunlight. Still pretty good. I was able to appreciate the juxtaposition between the diary entries and the primary story a bit more this time. Always nice to see author skill like that.

  • Get Along Home by no space
  • Upon the Black Beach of the Styx by Smoker
  • The Kidnapping of Twilight Velvet by Apple Bottoms
  • What Happened Last Night? by Flint Sparks
  • The Witching Hour by Chaotic Ink

Get Along Home by no space

Not a bad derpy story. A bit of cliche, a bit of originality, a but more cliche. I liked the other one a bit more. Though I might have a bit better feeling about this one if getting it onto my mini tablet had not been such an annoyance. You should now trust Google docs epub download feature. The author did something new with Derpy, but on the other hand the author had them watching sitcoms on television as a background detail in one scene. Kind if evens out I guess?

Upon the Black Beach of the Styx by Smoker

Nicely written. Short and self contained but with plenty of character. Both Discord and AJ have respectable showings. A little blunt in one or two places but nothing major. Falls squarely in the competent but nothing really amazing or terrible to talk about. One of my favorite versions of Discord is used here. The one that does not kill. I’ve seen it done in several ways and is my favorite non-grimdark one. The idea that he will torment and drive somepony loopy, but he isn’t outright evil enough to kill.

The Kidnapping of Twilight Velvet by Apple Bottoms

Fun comedy the first half and sweet emotional stuff in the second half. With the switch in the middle practically gave me whiplash. It was a bit abrupt is what I’m saying. Just a minor quibble though. I quite enjoyed the story. Plus even touches on the feelings between Miss Velvet and Celestia.

What Happened Last Night? by Flint Sparks

Yeah, it’s another story where the build up is the joke because the activity is not sex. Not bad and made me chuckle a few times, but nothing special.

The Witching Hour by Chaotic Ink

Cool concept, but the writing was just too rough for me to handle. Gave up about 15% of the way in. Right after the chapter that was a direct recounting of the Dragonshy episode with the occasional ‘the OC was there too’ moments. Might check to see if the author has any more recent stories though.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 19, 2016 in Ponies, Reading 2016, Reviews

 

Leave a Reply

