RSS

Pony Stories 599

27 Apr

Missed yesterday. I could have fudged it since I’m writing this at about a half-hour after midnight. Yet I’m in a good mood and so figure might as well roll with it. I didn’t get my story done for the writeoff. Which I might have mentioned already? Eh, anyway I do plan to write up my idea at least a few hundred words and probably put it up here. Now I have to share the damage that the feature box has done to my brain. One story actually had me consider the following comparison for a moment. For a clop story, which is worse: Twilight Sparkle with dog spike or dragon spike? I got about three cycles into it before my brain ran screaming from the train of thought. You know, until I decided to write it up as intro filler and now my brain is thinking about it again.

  • Starlight’s Second Friendship Lesson by PresentPerfect
  • Stare Down of The Century by Tavish
  • Wizards, Fools, and Foals by FanOfMostEverything
  • The Bully is Back by HapHazred
  • Maud-lin by Pascoite

Starlight’s Second Friendship Lesson by PresentPerfect

This starts out silly and gets progressively more so the whole way until the end is basically just outright crazy. Was a fun silly fluff read.

Stare Down of The Century by Tavish

I did not finish this. Decided to stop when there was a Netflix reference. That on top of an eariler reference to video games was enough to kill any interest I had in it. Which is pretty impressive for a 1000 word story. Normally I push through short ones like this.

Wizards, Fools, and Foals by FanOfMostEverything

I suspect my jaded self is once again to blame for my reaction to this. It wasn’t bad but I found it very bland. I had been interested in Starswirl as an apprentice lens grinder as a background, but nothing came of that. The story was just vague generalities with no real substance. Anyway, I did enjoy the little twist at the end when the comedy element gets mixed in. Though not really enough to justify the tag. Actually, not really a tragedy either. Hm. Anyway, bland but not bad I guess.

The Bully is Back by HapHazred

I have a hard time accepting that Equestria has a major gang problem. Even if it is mostly focused in Cloudsdale. Plus there was a bit too much focus on Rainbow Dash and Applejack. If there are ponies getting hurt in Ponyville, Twilight should e using magic to track them down, Pinkie should be doing what Pinkie does, and so on. A lot oif that is just nitpicking though. This was a serviceable story that I fee could have used some polish but otherwise was functional.

Maud-lin by Pascoite

I think Maud might be my favorite character. She’s just so awesome in all the best ways. Anyway, this had enough Maud-ness that I enjoyed it. Plus I always like to see Spike as a straight man for jokes.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 27, 2016 in Ponies, Reading 2016, Reviews

 

3 responses to “Pony Stories 599

  1. Loganberry

    April 27, 2016 at 8:04 pm

    Only one of these I’ve read is Wizards, Fools, and Foals. I liked it quite a bit, but then I like my slice-of-life stories, even if not a great deal of excitement lurks therein.

     
  2. Present Perfect

    April 27, 2016 at 8:06 pm

    Ah, excellent, you understand. 😀

     
    • Griffin

      April 28, 2016 at 12:31 am

      Rarely, but I can fake it pretty good.

       

Leave a Reply

