RSS

Pony Stories 603

02 May

My favorite part of the new episode was definitely the scene with Celestia and her expressions. I do think they went a little overboard with it, but even so it was fun. Princess Celestia was not having a good day and apparently was not up to projecting the ‘wise and calm princess’ image.

Anyway, today a group of reviews that I didn’t write just after finishing the stories in question. So I have to remember what my reactions were.

  • Pony Age: Origins by OmegaPony11
  • The Pursuit of Academic Excellence (and Ice Cream) by Pineta
  • If I Gave You Diamonds And Pearls by Estee
  • Everypony Lives by Chinchillax

Pony Age: Origins by OmegaPony11

This was a fun fantasy adventure story. Also a pretty good crossover in that it made me want to play the video game. Which I tried once but it was right when I had gotten tired of third-person computer RPGs, so I didn’t even finish the tutorial/beginning. If this story matches the video game even semi-closely I might have to give it another short. Then again, I’ll just be disappointed since there will be a serious lack of pony and the pony characters were excellently done. As for it being a crossover, I went into it with only the barest grasp of the video game and I never felt lost. Partly because it is fairly standard fantasy adventure stuff. Anyway, I would recommend this to anyone that wants pony-flavored fantasy fun. Very much in the same vein as The Sword Coast by AdrianVesper.

The Pursuit of Academic Excellence (and Ice Cream) by Pineta

This was a lot of fun. I don’t remember anything else, but it will probably get another read sometime in the near-to-moderate future. I would love more stories with the characters here.

If I Gave You Diamonds And Pearls by Estee

Huh. Not quite sure how to react to that one. As the author said in a blog post (I think?) it is pretty much a vent piece, so the lack of anything character or plot substantial is not exactly a flaw.

Everypony Lives by Chinchillax

Eh. I didn’t find this very dark honestly. I suppose most of that comes from my own views on death. Immortality is something I want so very badly, so a kingdom where death is not allowed sounds wonderful and I honestly can’t see the perspective of someone who fights against it so hard. Though the ending also hits my opinions on memories as well. I don’t really see much difference between a full memory erasure and death. In both cases the person who was there is gone, regardless of the condition of the body.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 2, 2016 in Ponies, Reading 2016, Reviews

 

Leave a Reply

