RSS

Pony Stories 617

26 May

I just now read Titanium Dragon’s post about his day two and three experience at Everfree Northwest. Which had the usual two layer reaction in my head. First, I always enjoy reading someone had a good time at any event, but especially a fan convention. I might have not been to one in a while, but I had been going to scifi/fantasy and anime cons for a good portion of my life and they are kind of just part of my mental view of the world at this point. So it is always nice to hear someone enjoyed one. However, the other side of my reaction is a bit of sadness and/or melancholy due to my social complications. I suck at meeting new people and I kinda suck at maintaining a conversation. Give me a good topic and I can probably keep going, and I always like to listen to someone talk about a subject they are passionate about, but I just can’t seem to manage the basic prompt/response rituals that keep a conversation going whenever all involved don’t have much to say at that moment. So I’m always a bit anxious before meeting new people because I feel like I’m a terrible conversationalist.

Which in one respect is a bit silly. I’ve been told that I’m pretty neat to talk to and most of my friends (back when I had a in-person social circle) repeatedly told my that I was really cool to have around. The anxieties we all carry around in our heads I guess. Anyway, to wrap this back around to the subject of cons, that particular mental glitch kicks in and compliments the fact that I just can’t initiate social interactions. Sure, if I make a plan to meet someone ahead of time I’ll stick to that, but no way will I go around at a con to meet people. Which sucks because the social bits are around 80% of why a person should go to a con.

  • Princess Celestia is Just Riddled with Bullets by Protopony350
  • The Moon, The Flower, And The Door by Bucking Nonsense
  • Trav(ap)est(r)y by Estee
  • From Her Cowboy Boots to Her Down Home Roots by Sherlocked-Dawn
  • Smugling by KingMoriarty

Princess Celestia is Just Riddled with Bullets by Protopony350

Very silly. Pretty random.

The Moon, The Flower, And The Door by Bucking Nonsense

Fun story. I can very much see Princess Luna using this test to fund a student. Also a much better way to handle a Earth Pony that wants to learn magic than the other story about that I read a long while back.

Trav(ap)est(r)y by Estee

This story reminded me of Terry Pratchett. Now watch me walk that amazing compliment back to one that is merely pretty good. Reminded me of in the style of writing, that remains fairly standard Water, but just in the concept and premise. I’m pretty sure he wasn’t the only author to do it, but the idea of the universe having certain patterns, the idea that places and things have a sort of reality inertia is a common theme in Pratchett’s work. This story has that same theme as the core, and in much the same way of accidental fulfillment of fate by well meaning individuals. It was a very enjoyable story that I found funny in several spots.

From Her Cowboy Boots to Her Down Home Roots by Sherlocked-Dawn

Eh, not bad. Not very pony really, given that it is human versions and has pretty much no nous from the show.. Would have worked great as a scene in a longer story. This would have made a good romantic climax with more build up of both character’s romantic feelings for each other.

Smugling by KingMoriarty

Huh. That ended dark. I’m not sure I would have given the story a comedy tag. Which gets into the age old discussion of if a story deserves a tag just because it has elements if that tag in it? Anyway, comedic bits in the first two-thirds and a fairly dark ending. Decently written as well. I will day that the description certainly highlights the comedy, almost enough that it might be deliberate by the author. The last line of the description certainly can have a double meaning looking back at it.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 26, 2016 in Ponies, Reading 2016, Reviews

 

One response to “Pony Stories 617

  1. iisawiisaw

    May 26, 2016 at 3:05 pm

    I, too, am appallingly bad at small-talk.

    Whenever I get into one of those awkward conversational pauses, I play the “I” game. I try to get the other person to say “I” as many times as possible. (Score-keeping is not necessary.) This pretty much consists of asking them about themselves. In a pony-related context, that’s pretty easy. What’s your favorite episode/character/fanfic/merch? What else are you into besides pony? Etc. Usually it will eventually get the conversation back onto some topic that allows for more back-and-forth.

     

Leave a Reply

