RSS

Pony Stories 622

31 May

Playing Fallout 4 for the billionth time has got me playing a cynical hard-bitten veteran of the wastes. Most unexpectedly. I’m just so tired of hearing the repeated dialogue over and over for certain things that I just kill the person I know is the bad guy before he even gets his first line out. Which is understandable from a game perspective I guess. I just consider what it looks like in the world itself. The player character walks in, shoots someone with no explanation, moves on. Works out to be a pretty good mentally scarred survivor. Plus I’m a mutant cannibal, so I’m enjoying it.

  • Ageless, or Celestia Plays Dice With the Universe by Cynewulf
  • A Flim Flam Family Affair by bookplayer
  • Trixie’s Wings by JP Sanders

Ageless, or Celestia Plays Dice With the Universe by Cynewulf
Quite good. Interesting alicorn worldbuilding, a good amount of mythic flavor. A good sense of the royal sisters having a history before they were rulers. Even a few good sister moments mixed in. Reminds me a bit of Eternal in a lot of ways.

I do like the concept in here, of alicorns having a multi faceted mind. Not to mention the implications that the alicorn inner courts are connected to something greater, their knowledge of things that they could not know from the alicorn’s own experiences. It also raises an interesting avenue of speculation. What about her friends? Without being alicorns they won’t have courts of their own, but we see in the end that Twilight’s court might be connected to them. Perhaps the six of them (counting Spike) become ageless without becoming alicorns? Plenty of speculation territory is what I’m getting at.

The ending wraps things up nicely, with the sense that the story is over but everyone’s lives continue. That what is read is just a window into their lives. Which is the best way for a stiry to feel in my opinion.

Oh, this does have Celestia and Twilight romance in it as a semi minor component to the emotional weight on both sides. It doesn’t do much to justify it either. I mean, it does a good job showing how they fall in love with each other, but pretty much ignores the problems of a student/teacher dynamic. I thought it was nice, but I know some people dislike that sort of thing. The story pretty much treats the whole student/teacher dynamic as another story might treat the romantic pair getting to know each other by getting coffee at the same cafe every morning for a while.

A Flim Flam Family Affair by bookplayer
Sweet, if more than a little predictable. So it was enjoyable but I doubt I will be reading it again at any point. I did like how the author showed the brother’s family feelings before the central situation was presented.

Trixie’s Wings by JP Sanders
Eh, not bad but I found it mediocre.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 31, 2016 in Ponies, Reading 2016, Reviews

 

2 responses to “Pony Stories 622

  1. Present Perfect

    June 1, 2016 at 8:46 am

    You just gave me an idea for my FoE parody. :3

     
    • Griffin

      June 1, 2016 at 9:02 am

      Sure. I get a cut of the profits though.

       

Leave a Reply

