RSS

Pony Stories 633

06 Jul

I tried the game The Banner Saga once again. I want to like it. The general style is cool, got an interesting story (what little I’ve seen) and I like the logistics caravans part of the game (in theory). Yet I can’t stand the combat. Not that I go into most games looking forward to the combat. I played Mass Effect on the easiest setting with the combat-centered character simply so that I would blow through all the shoot-stuff parts as quickly as possible to enjoy the story. Yet, Banner Saga just has combat that is so clunky and feels like nothing is happening that I just can’t handle it. Which sucks. This time around I get reminded of an idea that I don’t know if I heard somewhere or came up on my own. The idea that you can tell a good game mechanic by how often you find yourself trying to use it in other games, or even in real life (or at least thinking about it in real life). I found myself attempting to use the XCOM right-click to go back in a menu or to cancel an action like all the time and each time a moment of confusion that it didn’t work. Like, half the time while playing I would right-click to cancel an action, and then right-click again when it didn’t work as if I thought I just didn’t press the button hard enough or something. One more reason why I like the new XCOM games so much.

  • The Velveteen Mask by Crystal Wishes

The Velveteen Mask by Crystal Wishes

So dull. My reactions to the story Crystal Wishes were a bit complicated, it being a shallow but good story. See post here for that review, For all of it’s faults, that story at least had me wondering what would happen next in a detached curiosity sort of way. This story, however, had none of that. I nearly just quit several times and the one I decided to was like 90% through the thing so I figured I would tough it out. The main character was just, well, kind of a selfish shallow pony. We didn’t get any kind of internal character exploration or even the simple character arc that was in Crystal’s Wishes. Our main character here is pretty much the same from beginning to end. This… This just felt like a pale imitation. If I didn’t know better I’d call this some other author’s third-rate follow-up to a popular author’s story/world. The only parts I got close to liking were the ones that were scenes from the other stories I enjoyed because they made me think of those other stories. We didn’t even really get any interesting differences from the different viewpoint.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 6, 2016 in Ponies, Reading 2016, Reviews

 

4 responses to “Pony Stories 633

  1. Present Perfect

    July 6, 2016 at 6:03 pm

    Spoilers, my next big vs. post is Memoirs of a Royal Guard, which is a prequel/companion piece to Crystal’s Wishes. I just hit a spot that would have caused me to quit it if I weren’t two chapters from the end. It’s a very odd world these authors have created, and I have a lot of things to say about it.

     
    • Griffin

      July 6, 2016 at 8:16 pm

      Neat, I didn’t get past… Chapter 2? Maybe not even chapter 1 of Memoirs. Looking forward to seeing that post of yours.

       
      • Present Perfect

        July 6, 2016 at 10:43 pm

        I told myself that, since it was so long, I’d give it 10 chapters, just to make sure I wasn’t rushing to get it off my audiobook list. If I hadn’t done that, I likely wouldn’t have made it much further than you.

         
      • Griffin

        July 6, 2016 at 10:54 pm

        Well, I keep thinking I should try it again. Crystal’s Wishes gave little teases about what the guard was doing that I would like to know more about.

         

Leave a Reply

