RSS

Big Master Review List rambles and request

14 Jul

So, I’m feeling a bit sluggish on updating the Big Master Review List. My enthusiasm has dimmed a bit. Not because I dislike it, but reached a bit of a plateau of effort/reward. At the current numbers:

  • Authors: 2842
  • Stories: 7161
  • Total Reviews: 12255

It’s kind of a drop in the bucket for each new review. With my lack of updates here on the blog I don’t have as much interaction with the pony social circle, which makes sense. Gotta update and be present for people to pay attention after all. Just isn’t helping my general sloth at the moment I guess. Not to mention it’s gotten big enough that my connection and/or computer actually has trouble loading it when I bring up the webpage. Most likely from all the cross-sheet formulas I’m using for the realtime stats. I’m still pretty proud of it, just… Lost that spark for the moment. Of course, 17 Fic Rec posts from PP is something of a looming obstacle as well.

So, a call out for a bit of inspiration. Anyone out there used and/or browsed the Big Master Review List in the last week? If people check it out even when it’s not being updated that would be a morale booster. My main motivation in life, such as my brain has motivation, is I like to be useful and helpful to other people in some small way.

On the plus side, the day this goes up on the blog I should be getting a shiny new smart phone. So I’ll have a couple of days (at least one day I hope) messing with the new gizmo. That is always a mood boost.

 
13 Comments

Posted by on July 14, 2016 in Big Master Review List, Ponies

 

13 responses to “Big Master Review List rambles and request

  1. iisawiisaw

    July 14, 2016 at 12:23 pm

    Yep, I use it just about every time before I commit to reading a long story. I go look for reviews so that I can avoid the stinkers.

     
  2. xjuggernaughtx

    July 14, 2016 at 2:24 pm

    I actually use the BIG MASTER LIST all the time, both to shop for stories to read and to see if I’ve gotten any reviews on my own stuff that I didn’t know about. I find that list to be extremely helpful.

     
  3. Bryan Chandler

    July 14, 2016 at 2:46 pm

    I use it and would probably use it more if it itself wasn’t so sluggish. I use it and would probably use it more if it itself wasn’t so sluggish. Maybe offer separate groups of spreadsheets where you separate them into groups alphabetically. You know split them up into more manageable sizes

    ~Super Trampoline

     
  4. Pascoite Fics

    July 14, 2016 at 5:50 pm

    I use it every once in a while. Like every couple months or so.

     
  5. Present Perfect

    July 14, 2016 at 8:03 pm

    I’ve always planned on using it some day far in the future, when I’ve run out of stuff to read. :B

     
    • Griffin

      July 14, 2016 at 10:34 pm

      At that point like half of the reviews will be yours, so when you run out of stuff to read and need to check the list I can retire.

       
      • Present Perfect

        July 15, 2016 at 7:35 am

        I hate to even suggest this, but I feel like I should…

        If you showed me how to do it, I could always add in my own reviews as I go… <.<

         
      • Griffin

        July 15, 2016 at 1:41 pm

        Others have offered that as well, and it would probably be more efficient, but I’m just a bit too possessive of it to let others work on it. Besides, then I couldn’t complain about it!

        Honestly, you are only about 20% of the list at this point anyway.

         
  6. Soge Loquy

    July 14, 2016 at 11:43 pm

    I too use it all the time. It is a great way to check out opinions on fics.

    Also, it is slow on pretty much any computer. Spreadsheets don’t tend to play well with such large number of elements.

    If you are interested, I could try turning it into a simple site too.

     
    • Griffin

      July 15, 2016 at 1:44 pm

      What kind of simple site?

       
  7. Loganberry

    July 17, 2016 at 9:54 pm

    Oh,

     
  8. Loganberry

    July 17, 2016 at 9:56 pm

    *cough* Let’s try that again…

    Oh, absolutely! It’s tremendously useful when I’m deciding what to read next, and it’s always fun to look at other people’s reviews of fics I’ve reviewed. Even if they do frequently seem to pick out stuff I’ve totally missed. 😛 But yes, it’s a bookmark I use a good deal.

    Pure vulgar curiosity: is the removal of review numbers deliberate or not? I don’t mind either way; just wondering.

     
    • Griffin

      July 18, 2016 at 12:17 am

      It is a test to see if removing all the formulas makes it less slow for people.

       

Leave a Reply

