RSS

Pony Stories 637

16 Jul

Got my hardback copy of The Celestia Code. Very nice. Print on demand quality has gotten really good, and the design is top notch. The paper is a bit thin for my tastes. You can just barely make out the text on the other side of the pages. Certainly not a deal-breaker. Had me treating it a bit more carefully just from the perception of light more delicate paper though. So might be a good thing? Only big change to the content I noticed was a comment about Countess Coloratura, which I’m pretty sure was somepony else in the original. Probably Sapphire Shores. I didn’t really notice the straightening out of the flashbacks/flashforward stuff, since in my head the order of a story tends to get jumbled around normally. I can say that reading it was a nice smooth experience.

  • Secrets of a Royal Guard by Anzel

Secrets of a Royal Guard by Anzel

Did not like this as much as the previous one. Not as much humor, more serious drama stuff, Silent Knight being a idiot. Which since the main theme of the story is him dealing with PTSD I guess makes sense, but I spent the middle 60% or so of the story just wanting to beat sense into him. So, not going to go to the third one even when it finishes. The worldbuilding bits are still interesting but I don’t feel like putting up with the rest anymore to find out more stuff about it. Will probably still read any other stories in the AU that deal with more comedy and fluffy slice of life stuff.

Especially any stories that involve Azurite. She’s hilarious.

Moral of the story? (in a comedic sense): If a friend of yours that can see the future, and you believe she can see the future, speaks to you in a prophetic trance that you will succeed but will not be satisfied with the result of your obsession, maybe you should, you know, re-evaluate what you are doing?

 
7 Comments

Posted by on July 16, 2016 in Ponies, Reading 2016, Reviews

 

7 responses to “Pony Stories 637

  1. iisawiisaw

    July 16, 2016 at 6:16 pm

    Glad you liked the book! Most of the changes were eliminating the time-jumps, bringing it up to date with canon, and making the prose flow more smoothly. (You can thank Present Perfect for that.)

     
    • Griffin

      July 16, 2016 at 7:26 pm

      I was aware of the changes from other people talking about it, but wanted to mention that I didn’t notice it myself.

       
      • iisawiisaw

        July 16, 2016 at 7:28 pm

        That’s actually a good thing! The changes to Luna Cypher are more extensive, and (hopefully) for the better.

         
      • Griffin

        July 16, 2016 at 7:35 pm

        Looking forward to it!

         
  2. Present Perfect

    July 16, 2016 at 8:11 pm

    For the record, Sunny Day was probably my favorite character from the original, but I was mystified when she just suddenly had a girlfriend. I dislike this “write a story in multiple stories” approach to writing. 😐

     
    • Griffin

      July 16, 2016 at 9:41 pm

      Yeah, I can see that. If pulled off right it gives each story more depth in that there is more happening outside of the immediate story. Sadly, it is rarely pulled off well. I had the same trouble reading Crystal’s Wishes without knowing what’s happening in Memoirs.

       
    • Griffin

      July 16, 2016 at 10:51 pm

      I do think my favorite scene in… Damn, I don’t remember if it was in Memoirs or Secrets of a Royal Guard. It’s when Sunny is sleep deprived and kinda crazy when Silent Knight shows up in her office and she babbles and tells him to get rid of the dragons.

       

Leave a Reply

