RSS

Pony Stories 643

30 Jul

Spreadsheets. Nothing but spreadsheets. Which is how I feel anytime I spend a hour or two working on the big master review list. Today I decided to be a bit selfish and added a good number of reviews of my own to the list. I normally do them after everyone else is caught up, but decided to jump the queue this time and there wasn’t anyone who could stop me!

  • Sunny’s Days by Anzel

Sunny’s Days by Anzel

Start with the usual complaints about the AU. Didn’t feel much like pony in the movements/bodylanguage, would be better as original fiction. I think that’s about it for the standard review boilerplate for the Quill & Blade AU.

For the story itself, I enjoyed it and I think anyone who likes Sunny Day as a character will enjoy it as well. A little high on the ‘everything turns out great’ plot devices. There’s only one or two, but somewhat noticeable. Nothing bad really happens to Sunny and there really should have been *something* that went wrong at some point given her attitude toward life in the first half of the story. Other than that it was plenty of fun. I would have liked a bit more honestly. Something that connects this story with the Sunny Day we saw in the AU’s presentday. This story ends with her being a royal guard (should Royal Guard be capitalized there? I’ve never found a good explanation for titles/organizations grammar) in Canterlot Castle, but the Sunny Day from the other stories is commander of Princess Celestia’s house guard and that’s something of a jump.

Oh, and it does cover what Sunny Day did during the return of Nightmare Moon. It wasn’t a bad bit, but nowhere near my personal gold standard of fanfic covering canon show events. As I’ve mentioned before my gold standard for this is The Life and Times of a Winning Pony. Sunny’s Days isn’t bad in this respect. So it gets points for not ignoring canon events or overshadowing them. In this case it goes the other way in that the events of this story don’t really have any real feeling of importance. Despite that I think this is a pretty decent story and would recommend it for Sunny Day fans.

Minor spoilers: (and backseat writing)

In the story Canterlot is covered in a invisible miasma that causes fear, it’s a black fog that apparently only Sunny can see. The palace has it even worse and Sunny manages to get to the worst affected part of the palace to find Princess Celestia in a magic prison. Through the magic of inspirational speech and actually magic she frees Celestia. That’s it. When the scene started I was actually excited because I thought we’d get a bit of closure on her whole ‘my magic is only fire and destruction’ thing. I thought we would get her using the fire to either create light to inspire or to burn away the fear-causing fog. Especially when she revealed that a Unicorn focusing magic to make their horn glow would push the fog back. Which, once again, kinda shows the AU’s authors bias towards Unicorns. Anyway, I think it would have worked better if Princess Celestia was not involved and the big return of Nightmare Moon event was Sunny getting rid of, or just holding back the fear-miasma. Could have even gone with a ‘light a single candle instead of curse the darkness’ reference/metaphor/whatever, her fire magic against the dark magic. Or simply that be the reason she can see the miasma and nopony else could.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 30, 2016 in Ponies, Reading 2016, Reviews

 

3 responses to “Pony Stories 643

  1. Present Perfect

    July 30, 2016 at 7:13 pm

    This was the one story in this AU that piqued my interest, mostly because I liked Sunny, but I’ve decided I don’t want to read it, simply because I expect more of the things I didn’t like about MoaRG, vis-a-vis the author’s style and world-building.

     
    • Griffin

      July 30, 2016 at 7:53 pm

      Well, almost no worldbuilding but the author’s style is fairly strong. If you ever want to give the author another try this is certainly the one I’d recommend for you.

       
  2. iisawiisaw

    July 31, 2016 at 12:20 pm

    I believe that if the label is the same as the name of an organization, it should be capitalized. I.e., “I am a Royal Guard” or “I am a guard.”

     

Leave a Reply

