RSS

Pony Stories 646

07 Aug

As of writing this intro I’m around 5% into Fallout: Equestria – Project Horizons. I’m liking it more than I thought I would based on my vague memories of reading it before. Not sure if I should blame my poor memory or praise whatever editing has been done on it when it got put up on FimFiction. Either way, enjoyable so far. I still think making Blackjack a unicorn with only telekinesis and no spells was a mistake. Too much like Littlepip and it would have been an awesome thematic reinforcement of the early Blackjack mental problems if she had been a unicorn with lots of non-lethal and disorienting spells who finds out that the wasteland doesn’t really allow that sort of thing. Also the story is leaning a bit too heavily on the Fallout game mechanic of the slow-motion targeted shots. I don’t think even the original Fallout: Equestria used it so much. At least not in the emphasizing the slow-down nature of it. Still, looking forward to how the rest of it hits my brain. 89,000 words down, 1.5 million words to go!

  • The Unexpected Date by Monochromatic
  • Somepony Tries to Sell Twilight Insurance by The Minister of Scones

The Unexpected Date by Monochromatic

Unexpected indeed. Was looking forward to some simple Rarity and Twilight romance, but this was friendshipping with just a pinch of romance shipping if you squint in the right way. Which I think made the story a bit stronger even if it felt a little forced. Though Rainbow Dash’s harem comment was amusing as heck.

Somepony Tries to Sell Twilight Insurance by The Minister of Scones

Fun little concept. Doesn’t do anything all that impressive, but a solid execution of the premise. I do like the idea of insurance being this brand new thing that is trying to get traction in Equestria. Though I was sad that Twilight Sparkle didn’t go for the most obvious counter-argument. That in the end insurance is just getting other ponies to cover the costs of your disasters, which can be followed up with the statement that the citizens of Equestria don’t need a business contract to help each other out. Still, if the concept in the story description amuses, you’ll probably get some enjoyment out of the story itself.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 7, 2016 in Ponies, Reading 2016, Reviews

 

6 responses to “Pony Stories 646

  1. Present Perfect

    August 7, 2016 at 6:36 pm

    Dammit, now you’re gonna finish PH before I do, too. D:

     
    • Griffin

      August 7, 2016 at 8:04 pm

      Ha ha! One of the few benefits of having no life appears in my favor again!

      I’ll probably finish by the end of the week.

       
      • Present Perfect

        August 8, 2016 at 7:32 am

        >implying I have any kind of life

        I won’t even finish by the end of the year! D:

         
      • Griffin

        August 8, 2016 at 3:05 pm

        Well, apparently you’ve got enough of a life that you manage to do things other than read Project Horizons!

         
  2. Chris

    August 8, 2016 at 12:50 pm

    Let me know if you also experience a moment of disconnect when your e-reader tells you that the story is 97% complete, and you briefly think “wow, there’s still a whole lot left to wrap up, I wonder how he’s going to manage that in just…” before realizing that you still have a short novel’s worth of words left in the fic šŸ˜›

     
    • Griffin

      August 8, 2016 at 2:48 pm

      I had that moment with the original FoE if memory serves.

      With PH I have the opposite mental reaction. I’m only 30% in and have already gone through like three novels worth of plot/characters/action. What else is left that could possibly fill the rest of it?

       

Leave a Reply

